Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I have been making these delicious cookies for years and I found an easier way for me . I just roll them in small balls and make a thumbprint in them and fill and bake them ,when cooled I roll in powdered sugar, same great taste and much less work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
truly great, truly simple. .chilled for about two hours and to simplify, I made a "log" and rolled it in plastic wrap; just sliced, dolloped and baked. No rolling or unnecessary handling. Baked about 15 minutes though. and
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This is a great recipe. My dough was great to work with, very flaky dough. Just what I was looking for. Was great with all my fillings! Thanks for sharing! I had to make cookies for the holidays so I tripled this recipe and it still worked great! I have learned through the years that I don't touch the dough with my hand except to transfer them and roll it. This prevented me from my warm hands making the dough gluey. Also this helped to make the cookies flaky. I could actually see the flaky layers when I bit into the cookies! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annamaria Settanni McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Jam, preserves, or pie filling won't work as well as a true fruit/nut pastry filling. Solo brand is excellent and never runs (unless you overfill). The recipe I use for the dough is 0.5 lb of butter and 0.5 lb of cream cheese with 2 cups of flour. If the dough is properly chilled, you don't need much extra flour to keep things from sticking. In years of making these pastries, the dough doesn't seem to suffer from a little extra flour - just don't over work/knead it to start or during the rolling out process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I tried this recipe and I put Solo Almond filling instead of preserves. It knocked my husbands socks off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
These are the best Kolacky ever! They are nice and tender and flaky. I have always loved kolacky but I always thought that they'd be too dificult to make. However, I can't believe how easy they are to make! Just 3 ingredients, I can't believe I used to pay so much for only a few at my local bakery. I like to sprinkle them with powdered sugar once cooled and they are just PERFECT!!! I made them for the first time late last night, and they were gone by early morning. I am making them again today, however, this time I am doubling the recipe. Thank you for sharing this recipe with me! I just can't get enough of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I've been making cream cheese Kolacky over 40 years and this recipe is perfect as is, however I make a much larger batch using a lb. of butter, lb. of cream cheese, 4 cups flour and a couple tsp. of vanilla. I also make a walnut filling instead of preserves by grinding a lb. of walnuts or pecans and mixing with 1 1/4 cups sugar and two beaten egg whites. Like another reviewer I also roll them out on a liberal dusting of powdered sugar in lieu of dusting them with it. It carmelizes the bottom and adds yet another tasty dimension to an already scrumptious cookie. These proportions make plenty to share for Christmas gifts, but I must warn you-you will be asked to make them every year!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Wow. I tasted the raw dough & it was not good at all. Put it in the freezer & did not have high hopes for a very good cookie. Let it thaw a little. Decided I was tired so I put powdered sugar in a large baggie, rolled dough into balls, threw them into the sugar, put the balls on a cookie sheet, smashed with my finger, added peach preserves to the middle of the cookie & wallaa . . . very tasty treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
This cookie was DIVINE! It defintely needs the sugar or icing or it isn't sweet....... I sprinkled as I've seen some do with granulated sugar before baking. I used apricot preserves..... this is one of the best cookie recipes I've eaten...... very true to real kolacky...... the results are light and pastry like..... I think you could add a touch of vanilla...... this cookies is best NOT hot right out of the oven..... it is too hot and the buttery smell and flavor are overpowering..... these cookies are best next day or thrououghly cooled..... the cookie softens slightly in storage....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These are the best my mom has the same recipe but was not available. we have made these for at least the past 20 years at christmas!! To save time at holidays use mini muffin pans and press dough on bottom and up the sides and bake when cool sprinkle with conf. sugar just as good and saves time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States