Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
I had difficulty keeping the pinched corners together during baking...resulting in a bit of a mess on the cookie sheets. Maybe I've done something wrong?? Also, I baked them for approx. 14 minutes as they appeared under-cooked. Any assistance would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I made this recipe for Christmas because I wanted to use one that was easier than the one I always use. With only 3 ingredients for dough, I loved it! Very fast, easy, and the taste was just as good as my other recipe that called for 7 ingredients and much more work. Delicious!! Flour board heavily when rolling out . Make sure you pinch center really good. I baked about 18-20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I have been searching for this recipes for many, many yrs. They are fantastic and simple to make. I was given this recipe about 30 yrs ago and it was called something else that I don't remember. I tucked it away in a cookbook and made them for friends and family. Well, I accidently gave the cookbook away. I am so delighted that someone else loves Kolacky as much as I do!! and I'm Sicilian!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Thank you for posting this recipe! I had one that I used for years, and now cannot find. The dough IS what makes these cookies~it's exceptionally light and melts in your mouth. The only alteration I made to the recipe (as my original recipe called for) was to roll out the dough in powdered sugar instead of flour, and not dust them after they've cooled. This just gives the dough a touch of sweetness, but you do need to use the sugar liberally to keep the dough from sticking. I bake the cookies on a baking stone. If you do this and don't have a second stone to alternate batches, you'll need to let the stone cool down, otherwise the dough will start to melt as you're placing them onto the stone due to it's high fat content. Using a cool or cold stone, I bake them for 18 minutes. Everyone always raves about these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I am so happy I found this recipe! My mom used to make these when I was little and I loved them, but could never remember what they were called. They taste just as wonderful as I remember. I filled them with homeade apple butter and rolled in powdered sugar like another user suggested. My only complaint is that I only got one cookie sheet worth of kolacky! I will automatically double the recipe next time because they are going fast. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Never made a rolled dough recipe before--great for beginners easy. Don't forget to pinch dough-- i forgot on some and they open up. i used poppy seed filling tasty. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
This cookie was DIVINE! It defintely needs the sugar or icing or it isn't sweet....... I sprinkled as I've seen some do with granulated sugar before baking. I used apricot preserves..... this is one of the best cookie recipes I've eaten...... very true to real kolacky...... the results are light and pastry like..... I think you could add a touch of vanilla...... this cookies is best NOT hot right out of the oven..... it is too hot and the buttery smell and flavor are overpowering..... these cookies are best next day or thrououghly cooled..... the cookie softens slightly in storage....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
These are the best Kolacky ever! They are nice and tender and flaky. I have always loved kolacky but I always thought that they'd be too dificult to make. However, I can't believe how easy they are to make! Just 3 ingredients, I can't believe I used to pay so much for only a few at my local bakery. I like to sprinkle them with powdered sugar once cooled and they are just PERFECT!!! I made them for the first time late last night, and they were gone by early morning. I am making them again today, however, this time I am doubling the recipe. Thank you for sharing this recipe with me! I just can't get enough of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Very good cookies, alittle difficult to get the right shape. I will try making them with poppyseed next time as suggested by a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
These are my favorites, I have always loved them and this is the best recipe. I know the dough is a bit hard to work with but they are worth it and putting them in the fridge for a few in between rollings helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States