Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is a delicious recipe! I never made kolachy before so I was surprised there was no egg needed for the dough or sugar! I think the ones I rolled out really thin didn't turn out as well as those that I kept a little thicker. I had no trouble with the corners popping open, I put a little water on the two corners I was going to overlap and that seemed to do the trick. I used Smuckers Simply Fruit and it worked well. The ones that leaked out are ones I'm sure I over filled. Just be sure to line the cookie sheet with parchment paper for easy clean up! One last thing about the dough, if you don't have a few hours to let the dough chill in the fridge, pop it in the freezer in about 30 minutes it will be very firm. Just be sure to break off what you need and put the rest in the freezer/fridge. Give these a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum!! These were sooo delicious, I used seedless rasberry Jam, Make sure you chill the dough or it is too hard to work with. I also rolled the dough in powdered sugar instead of flour. The only problem I had was not making enough, they were gone way too quickly. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I wanted a classic Kolacky cookies, but it turned out to be my least favorite cookie this holiday season. The dough is very hard to work with, it literally melts in room temperature. Mycorners did not hold together even after very thorough pintching. The cookies needed more time to bake and the flavor was rather bland, even with good preserves, and lots of powder sugar. I will try these again with a bit more flour and maybe adding some sugar to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These cookies are even better than I remember them being as a child! The recipe is unbelievably easy and the dough is very easy to work with. To form the cookies, I used a one-inch scoop to scoop out the dough and flattened each cookie with the back of a spoon. Fill 'em, bake 'em, and make plenty, especially if you have a 14yo boy roaming about! He polished off a dozen of them. Seriously. They are that good! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I've been making cream cheese Kolacky over 40 years and this recipe is perfect as is, however I make a much larger batch using a lb. of butter, lb. of cream cheese, 4 cups flour and a couple tsp. of vanilla. I also make a walnut filling instead of preserves by grinding a lb. of walnuts or pecans and mixing with 1 1/4 cups sugar and two beaten egg whites. Like another reviewer I also roll them out on a liberal dusting of powdered sugar in lieu of dusting them with it. It carmelizes the bottom and adds yet another tasty dimension to an already scrumptious cookie. These proportions make plenty to share for Christmas gifts, but I must warn you-you will be asked to make them every year!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsVal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
These really were awesome. I tried different approaches ... I rolled them out really thin, and they were too flaky...when I rolled them thicker they tasted better. Then with just the last two I made thumprint cookes and that was the best of them all ... I'm sorry I didn't try that at first! The dough in this recipe is yummy ... very plain but thats because you're supposed to use powdered sugar. I could see making these using different cut outs and frosting them, too. A really good base for a lot of ideas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I did not think these cookies were all that great. I made them as directed, and baked them as directed...they were not very flavorful, and needed to be left in the oven for longer. My husband liked them, but I will not be making them again=(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthyeater28

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Really good. I accidentally froze my dough so I had to defrost it to roll it out and they still came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keyport, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I had a lot of trouble getting them to be the right shape, and they popped open in the oven. The taste of the dough is pretty bland and flour-y. This was a waste of some high-end butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
My husband and his family are from the heavily Czech-descendant area around Austin & San Antonio TX. I made these for him, hoping he would like them but he only ate about three of them. I thought they weren't nearly as good as the ones the ladies at his mother's church made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States