Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This is the same great cookie my mom made ...well I'm 72 so....many years ago...I have seen another way just recently to make them. Cut in circles, put filling in the center and pinch up 3 corners to make a hat shape make sides on them..or sort of like a triangle with sides. This seems a good way to solve the the problem of the filling coming out the ends. Make them small though. I'm going to try them this time as"hats" . Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Make every year at Christmas time for my family. My only suggestion is to make sure to use pastry filling. Solo brand is the BEST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Very good! I made mine with whole wheat pasty flour instead. I will put some vanilla in the cream cheese mixture next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I have been making these for years, they are my son's favorite cookie. My Baci made them with solo poppyseed for the filling and I do the same. They do end up splitting apart, I have tried making a pinwheel from them by rolling out the dough, spreading the filling, rolling up and cutting into slices, sprinkle w/powdered sugar and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Looked for a recipe like my Mom used to make, these are great. I used Solo fruit filling. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclynn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
i had been waiting to try these for a long time! i did exactly as the recipe said, except a little less butter because i didnt have enough! i guess i didnt pinch them enough because they opened up in the oven. personally, i found the kolacky to be greasy (even with less butter!)i had expected a nice flaky base, whereas it was just a little flaky then greasy! not for me, wont be makin them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Italiana8501
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Daughter was making cream cheese sugar cookies and put in too much cream cheese, with some help from this recipie, the cookies turned into Kolacky, and were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momto3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I made this recipe and, following an idea I read in the reviews, made a long roll in plastic wrap, put it in the fridge overnight and then sliced it thin (1/8")with a sharp knife. I tried to shape the roll with squared sides rather than a round roll. That way it sliced into squares (not perfect, but usable and quick) and I could place the filling diagonally and bring the opposite corners up and pinch together. Not handling the dough much made it easy to fill and shape for baking. Tried mincemeat mixed with chopped walnuts as one of the fillings, which turned out to be the most popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I leave the butter and cream cheese out on my counter until they reach room temperature and then mix them up in a bowl with my hands (clean, of course), I then add the flour and also use my hands to blend it in. Instead of flouring my work surface, I use confectoner's sugar. I also add it to the dough if it is too sticky. Instead of cutting squares or rectangles, I use a round cookie cutter (an upside down cup or glass works well too) and spread the filling along the middle (the invisible diameter line) then bring both sides to the center to meet. It is not quite the tradional shape but it is very similar and easier to me than trying to cut squares that are all the same size. My favorite filling to use is the Solo brand apricot cake and pastry filling. They have a variety of flavors like strawberry, poppyseed, raspberry, blueberry, and nut fillings. Solo has the perfect consistency for kolacky fillings. After the kolachys cool down I sift confectioner's sugar on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This is a delicious recipe! I never made kolachy before so I was surprised there was no egg needed for the dough or sugar! I think the ones I rolled out really thin didn't turn out as well as those that I kept a little thicker. I had no trouble with the corners popping open, I put a little water on the two corners I was going to overlap and that seemed to do the trick. I used Smuckers Simply Fruit and it worked well. The ones that leaked out are ones I'm sure I over filled. Just be sure to line the cookie sheet with parchment paper for easy clean up! One last thing about the dough, if you don't have a few hours to let the dough chill in the fridge, pop it in the freezer in about 30 minutes it will be very firm. Just be sure to break off what you need and put the rest in the freezer/fridge. Give these a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States