Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Mine popped open, too. Not sure what went wrong...I pinched them together as directed. The taste was fair...but certainly NOTHING to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by born2dans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I tried to make these,but they opened up... What did I do wrong?.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These are bland to me. I've had much better, and I've made much better. Would not make these again, was expecting them to taste wonderful but they taste barely good. I am an excellent baker and have much experience, do not waste your time or ingredients on these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This cookie was so light and flaky. To economize, I used cherry pie filling. I added a cherry to the middle and 5 yr old granddaughter suggested drizzling the filling syrup over it. When they baked, the filling spread well and there was just the right proportion to the filling cookie ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is the recipe my Mom got from my Dad's Slovakian mom. It was made also by all my Dad's sisters every Christmas. They, like some other, used Solo fillings instead of jams. The best were the poppy seed, apricot and walnut. Delicious cookie, super memories that continue with family traditions even now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
If you have problem with the jam or preserves running out during baking here's a tip. Place the amount required in a microwave on high allow to "bubble" about 30 seconds or even 60 seconds depending on your microwave. Careful when removing. Allow to cool. This will thicken the jam and helps to prevent leaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I really wish I could give this more stars! My grandmother used to make these for Thanksgiving and Christmas. you can't get better than this. We never used jam, we use solo canned fruits and nuts filling. Apricot, poppy seed, mixed nut, cherry, even pineapple is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Really yummy but a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Perfection. I doubled the recipe and filled them with the cheese filling recipe off this site. I did have to bake them for close to 20 minutes though, not 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Very tender & delicious. I made them into balls & then thumbprinted them instead of rolling them out & only got 12 (large-ish) cookies. If I had made mine smaller, I could maybe get 24 but they would be tiny. I also used powered sugar to roll them in instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States