Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
These were very similar to my grandmother's recipe which she filled with date filling, apricot filling and raspberry filling. Made these to add to my Christmas cookie platters. cut out tops/bottoms (tops had a star shape cut out of it) and made with raspberry filling for my dad and date filling for my mom. They loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great Christmas recipe. Looks beautiful and are yummy. Not as sweet as I like thus the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This is the same recipe that my Grandmother made. She would make so many wonderful Polish pastries that we enjoyed all year long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dealthecards123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I tried this instead of my yeast recipe. I followed the recipe almost exactly (using Solo filling for the jam) except that I found if they baked longer, they were crispier and the bottoms were cooked and insides more flaky. Regarding complaints about the dough: it comes out the frig very hard and the butter makes it stiff. But if you flatten with your hand and roll it on powdered sugar with a little dusting on top, it will roll out thin enough to cut and lift off the counter. I tried waxed paper, but the dough did not roll as easily as on the powdered sugar. I think I will make this recipe my standard. I made some tiny squares, pinching opposite ends together in the middle. Those were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poppy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I've made these for over 20yrs & couldn't find my recipe this year. While it's pretty much committed to memory I needed exact measurements. This one is close w/the exception of: salt, grated lemon peel & real vanilla. Not Grandma's added ingredients but mine & they make all the difference. Not that there is much of a difference but I always use unbleached flour. I quadrupled this, & baked them in a convection oven at 325 for 15 mins on aire-bake sheet pans. They melt in your mouth! Be sure to purchase homemade, real preserves for the hard work. I use cherry, apricot & seedless blackberry. Beautiful, w/sprinkled powdered sugar on my crystal platter. Merry Christmas & thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I've made these a couple times and they go over well. Flavor is good and they aren't overly sweet. It is a little frustrating that they don't stay closed up. Last time I used another reviewers suggestion to cut circles and drop them in a mini muffin pan - they cook well and come out looking cute and almost like flowers, but you have to be very careful not to use too much jam or the overflow and make a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
While they were very tasty, they were also very crumbly. One or two cookies didn't fall apart when picked up, the rest were a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These are REALLY tasty but a bit tricky to get into proper form. I would highly recommend using flour to roll, as the recipe suggests, rather than the confectioner's sugar. I started that way and it was just too sticky. I also had trouble with the ends coming apart. Be sure to get the dough nice and thin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookitup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
.5 cup of cream cheese, butter, and 2 cups flour was perfect ratio. I also added a couple tsps of vanilla extract. Along with .25 cup granulated sugar. Then rolled the dough out on confectioner sugar. Pie filler seems to stay in place the best. Also for those that cant figure it out. Wet the tips of the dough slightly, where you folds will over lap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Tender, flaky, and rich - just the way kolacky should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States