Cream Cheese Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The cookies taste great, but as others have experienced, the cookies kept opening up. Eventually, I just gave up, and used the make thumbprint style cookies instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
A super simple, tried and true, crowd-pleasing recipe! This is my go-to, and I've got it down to a science: Make your life simple, like I have... Make the dough ahead of when you wish to bake. I mix up 8x the recipe at one sitting. Cut the butter and cream cheese together with the flour, then mix as little as possible with your hands; due to arthritis, I usually end up just 'knuckling' the dough in the bowl, to bring it all together. Next, form dough into fist-sized rough balls and roll each one between two sheets of wax-paper. Needless to say, Don't chill first! Roll them to the thickness you wish your cookies to be, so you don't have to roll later. Stack the rolled-out balls together on a pan (I use a pizza pan), wrap in plastic wrap and stash in fridge. When ready to make into cookies, remove dough from fridge one 'disk' at a time as you use them. Peel wax paper off one side to loosen, then replace, flip and peel off the other side. I use a pizza-slicer to cut the dough into squares and save the weird end pieces to re-roll when all 'disks' are used up. Put filling into plastic baggie and clip one corner off. Pipe filling in a diagonal onto dough squares, bring up opposite ends and pinch. Transfer to baking sheet and bake as directed. By piping the filling, my fingers stay clean and I am able to control how much filling I wish to use. It's not unusual for me to do a 'line' of cream-cheese filling alongside a fruit filling on the same cookie! Hubby love it and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
very good flaky cookie. I made it using Solo almond filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Amazing dough. Loved how flavorful and rich it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
This is one of the best cookies you will ever taste. They have just the right amount of sweetness and melt in your mouth. I use a pastry filling solo brand because the filling doesn't run like with preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I liked the flavor of the end result, but it was a lot of work to make this cookie. When I put 1/2t of apricot fruit spread into the middle of the dough per the instructions and baked it, the filling oozed out onto the pan. (I even measured the squares to make sure that they were 2.5 inch x 2.5 inch. I should have used Solo brand fruit filling as some of the reviewers had recommended. When I had used the Solo fruit filling in the past with this recipe, I got better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I happened across this recipe several years ago on allrecipes.com and absolutely loved it. These are some of my very favorite cookies and this recipe is delish. I make them with the traditional raspberry and apricot fillings, but I have also used lemon curd, lime curd, almond paste and my most favorite...Nutella!!! Let me tell you, these cookies are always a big hit, but the Nutella ones are always the most popular :-) Thanks a lot for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Pretty good! Wait until it cools before trying it or you will burn yourself! Tip...put cream cheese below the apricot for some extra goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
i put a bit of salt & a couple TBS of P. sugar into the dough it isnt so drab that way been making this recipe for 40 yr thay r alway a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Awesome recipe! A very nice dough to work with and it turned out soft and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States