Cream Cheese Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
This would be five stars if adjusted as follows: 1 box confectioners sugar, 8 oz. cream cheese, 1 tsp. flavoring and 1 tablespoon milk. The consistency then is excellent. Have Cream cheese at room temp. and use an electric mixer for blending all together. Great taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I tweeked it a bit, but not much. The cream is totaly un-neccesary. Also, you should warm up the cream cheese just a bit. I did 40 seconds in the micro and that was perfect! Trying to blend codl cream cheese into anything especially powdered augar is pretty much impossible so do yourself a favor and save time by heating it up slightly. I added a teaspoon vanilla extract and that's it. Ready in 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
really good for carrot cake. i agree with another reviewer, cream is just not necessary. i used light cream cheese, and added 1 1/2 tsp vanilla. one batch covered 24 cupcakes with a little left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I used this frosting on a batch of red velvet cupcakes -- instant addiction. Everyone at the party I made them for was complimenting me all night. The frosting is exceedingly easy and very delicious. I made it with whipping cream, which gave it a fluffy texture, and vanilla, which added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
My 5 year old loved this frosting. It was very easy to mix and spread. I doubled the recipe though and barely had enough to cover my 9" round cake. This recipe amount would probably be fine for a sheet cake but make more of it for frosting a double round cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
i subbed skim milk for the cream, and fat-free cream cheese for the regular cream cheese.. turned out very yummy! but be sure to put it in the freezer or refrigerator for awhile before frosting, as it will be a bit runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this with the Moist Carrot Cake recipe from this site for our Easter dessert. Really very good, and not all that sweet, which is my preference. Like others, I added a bit of pineapple juice that was left over from the carrot cake. Also added orange zest which gave a nice kick, and decorated with mandarin oranges. Since I made a 2-layer 8" cake from the cake recipe, I needed to double the frosting recipe. Had just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
Perfect!!! I wouln't cange a thing! (I make twice the amount and freeze half for the next time I bake a cake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I liked this recipe for a red velvet cake,I doubled it and added a tsp. of vanilla. Everyone loved it - I will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANETTYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I added 2 tsp Vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States