Cream Cheese Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I don't care for frosting, but I sure love cream cheese and this was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I tweeked it a bit, but not much. The cream is totaly un-neccesary. Also, you should warm up the cream cheese just a bit. I did 40 seconds in the micro and that was perfect! Trying to blend codl cream cheese into anything especially powdered augar is pretty much impossible so do yourself a favor and save time by heating it up slightly. I added a teaspoon vanilla extract and that's it. Ready in 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
I have only 2 things to say: Easy and Delicious! A bit too runny, though. This recipe may not work well if you try to decorate your cake with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this with the Moist Carrot Cake recipe from this site for our Easter dessert. Really very good, and not all that sweet, which is my preference. Like others, I added a bit of pineapple juice that was left over from the carrot cake. Also added orange zest which gave a nice kick, and decorated with mandarin oranges. Since I made a 2-layer 8" cake from the cake recipe, I needed to double the frosting recipe. Had just enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Seidel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This recipe is really basic, but oh-so-good. I make it with the GREAT recipe for carrot cake that I also got from this website. To add a little zest to this frosting, I add some left over pinapple juice from the carrot cake. It's so YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senushi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
First time I have made a creame cheese frosting that didn't have butter. It was not as sweet with a very strong cream cheese flavor to it. I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I used this frosting on a batch of red velvet cupcakes -- instant addiction. Everyone at the party I made them for was complimenting me all night. The frosting is exceedingly easy and very delicious. I made it with whipping cream, which gave it a fluffy texture, and vanilla, which added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
So easy and yet it is so good, a nice base that you can make probably make many variations. I added some Vanilla the first time I made it. I imagine any extract would work just as well or you can add some cocoa for a chocolate flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Udo Rosenberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
With a few added spices to complement my spice cake, this was a great frosting. Not too rich. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
i subbed skim milk for the cream, and fat-free cream cheese for the regular cream cheese.. turned out very yummy! but be sure to put it in the freezer or refrigerator for awhile before frosting, as it will be a bit runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States