Cream Cheese Filled Pumpkin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I too am a huge fan of Starbucks pumpkin cream cheese muffins. However, they are rather costly. To make these more healthy I used freshly ground soft whole wheat flour in place of most of the AP flour. You could not tell at all since the pumpkin flavor overwhelms the wheat. Also, I followed the advice of another reviewer and froze the cream cheese filling. I simply used my cookie scoop and dropped the cream cheese filling on a plate and froze it. Wonderful! I had perfect cream cheese centers! Also, remembering not to beat the cream cheese until it is soup makes all the difference. It should keep its form when scooped otherwise you beat it too long! Wonderful muffins, thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Don't know what I did wrong and I'll certainly try again and amend rating. Made exactly as directed with only exception being to use home made pumpkin (but I was careful to weigh exactly 15oz before using). I wasn't sure what size muffin tin to use - people had commented that the made around 20 regular cupcake size muffins so I assumed the original recipe was for the larger muffin tins. Which I used. I came out with 9 muffins that were so dense and compact they were virtually inedible. I tested my baking soda as a precaution (although I regularly change it) and it was fine, so that wasn't the problem. The only thing I can think of was the size of the pan (although I wouldn't think that would make that much of a difference. I did increase baking time to about 32 minutes. So, in summary, I don't know if it was a) homemade pumpkin vs canned or b) using larger size tins vs regular or c) just one of those bad baking days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I thought these muffins were really good. The only things I changed about the recipe is I used 1/4 c plain Greek yogurt instead of oil. Also as suggested by another reviewer, I just used pumpkin pie spice (1 tbsp)and I mixed 2 packets of Stevia with the cream cheese. Turned out good for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
WOW! WOW! WOW! So incredibly good! This recipe made 12 muffins, but the muffin cups were very full and when they baked, they puffed right up and over the edge. Perfect! Just like the ones at coffee shops! I did sweeten the cream cheese as some have suggested. For the spices, all I had was cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger, so I used a tablespoon of cinnamon and 1/2 t. each of nutmeg and ginger. Texture was perfect! Not gummy at all. Beautiful crumb. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Very good, next time I think I will fill with cream cheese icing instead of plain cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Excellent! Instead of oil I used 1/2 cup of apple sauce. I added 2 tbsp crystallized ginger to the batter. Added powdered sugar and almond extract to Neufchatel. Topped it off with streusel and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I loved the heavy spice blend in these, but the chewy gummy texture was less than desirable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Try to sweeten the cream cheese then freeze it! It was strange eating a sweet muffin and biting into warm cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ciao Bella Befana
Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
delicious. i just mixed some powdered sugar and cinnamon into the cream cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
They were so moist and spicy. I wish I was more generous with the cream cheese because I did cut it down a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States