Cream Cheese-Filled Coffeecake With Fruit Preserves and Crumble Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
A good basic coffee cake recipe that should be in everyone's file. Made as directed (fruit added to taste) it works well. Cannot understand how a recipe can be rated when someone takes is apart by the seams and doesn't even follow it. Sorry to complain, but this is annoying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Ok, so I made so many changes, but it turned out great, so I will share them all. First, for the cake, I used 1/2 cup of un-diluted frozen orange juice concentrate. I creamed that in with the butter, sugar, and eggs. I also added a couple tsps of vanilla at this point. I increased the sugar to 3/4 cup, because I used frozen cranberrys as the fruit, and as we all know, they can be VERY tart. I used sour cream instead of yogurt because it's all I had on hand. Finally, I stired the frozen cranberrys (About 1 cup) right in to the batter. I greased a spring form pan, and poured the batter into it. I creamed the cream cheese mixture together as directed and poured that over the batter. I added some nutmeg and probably twice as much butter as called for to the crumb topping, and sprinkled that on the top. (Note: next time I make it I will deffinetly use white sugar instead of brown for the crumb topping) I baked it at 350 for probably 45-60 mins. Once out of the oven, let cool for at least an hour before removing the outer part of the spring form pan if you choose to use it. It works wonderfuly, but needs time to set. Anyway, turned out FAB! Served it with some good vanilla ice cream, and every one LOVED it! Play with this recipe to make it work for you. It's deffinetly worth it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
There is a problem with the directions of this recipe. Step 5 should read: Beat in half the dry ingredients, followed by half the yogurt. Beat in the remaining dry ingredients, then the remaining yogurt. I made it using orange marmalade for the fruit filling and overall it was pretty good. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I will not be making this again. I pretty much followed the recipe, but I added some vanilla and butter flavoring to the cake part, because other cooks said it was bland. It wasn't bland so much as it was crusty and I had thought it would be cakey. The cream cheese filling was good, and it did set as it cooled, not runny at all, in fact I could have cooked it less and it would have been fine. The crumb topping wasn't very crumbly; the butter just absorbed the flour until it was a paste. Cinnamon and brown sugar were not the right offsets to the flavor of the cream cheese. I would instead sprinkle the cake with powdered sugar a la Entenmenns cream cheese coffee cake. I may try the filling with another coffee cake recipe, or i will just keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Not always a successful baker, so followed the recipe EXACTLY using the fruit preserves and cream cheese options. Turned out perfect. Guest loved the crumbles on top nice and plentiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Yoho

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I was scared to try this, but glad I did! It is SO good! I brought it to easter breakfast and everyone loved it! I was very nervous when spreading the batter onto the foil, it seemed very sticky, but I went for it anyway, and it turned out beautifully! This is a real keeper and I will be making it again. Everyone was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
The cheese is the best part, I will propably make this again with a different batter. I always think coffeecake relies too much on the topping for flavor, so I always add a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter and I did one and half on the cheese filling with chocolate chips on one side and cherry preserves on the other. Note about preserves - the amount listed may not provide much flavor. I would suggest fruit instead, frozen, fresh, or re-hydrated. Ditto other's comments on the topping burning. The batter cooked up fine, but was so thick I had trouble getting it in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This was a rich coffee cake, and very good. I used chocolate chips for the flavor layer, and oats in the topping. Next time I'll try it with jam. The crumble topping is delicious, but burns very easily, so be careful. The cream cheese layer is wonderful, and almost makes the cake taste like a chess square. A note about the cake batter: it will be very thick and seem almost too dry when you are mixing it, but will bake up nicely. The cake itself is moist when it is served hot, but does dry out quickly. That's OK, just serve it with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
excellent! For the fruit filling I used 3/4 cup fresh raspberries + 3/4 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
Fantastic coffeecake! I used cream cheese and toasted almonds as my variation, and there were no breakfast leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States