Cream Cheese-Filled Coffeecake With Fruit Preserves and Crumble Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I made this with raspberry preserves, but I kind of drizzled it around because I like a little bit of fruit taste with each bite. I took it to work because I knew I wasn't going to eat the whole thing in one day. It was a hit. I am glad one reviewer mentioned the directions being wrong (thanks). I also have to agree that for my personal taste the cake batter was missing something. I used foil like the recipe said to, and I had no issues with getting it off of the foil. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Not horrible, but very bland. I made it with the cream cheese filling, the cake and the top- nothing extra. It really needs something, the cream cheese filling was really the only thing that gave it any flavor and the topping became tastless and a bit to hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
The cake portion was dry and flavorless, the cream cheese was grainy after baked. Getting it out of the tinfoil was near impossible. Safe yourself the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val Tater

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I love this recipe the combinations are endless! I used the oatmeal in the crumble topping. I actually ran out of cinnamon so I used a packet of cinnamon spice instant oatmeal and it worked great! For the filling I did the cream cheese filling with raspberry preserves and chocolate chips because raspberry and chocolate is a favorite combo of mine. It came out delicious definitely a keeper next time I will try a different variation. This coffeecake would even be good just with the crumble topping and basic batter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Very rich and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAVYA29

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
After reading reviews about the cake layer being dry, I switched the yogurt with sour cream. Thought the higher fat content would make it moist. It didn't work...it was stil very dry. My plan is to find a different batter recipe and keep the cream cheese, fruit and crumb topping as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I often dissect this recipe and use the crumble topping for pies and muffins. The flavor combination is really well done for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Schmeling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I will not be making this again. I pretty much followed the recipe, but I added some vanilla and butter flavoring to the cake part, because other cooks said it was bland. It wasn't bland so much as it was crusty and I had thought it would be cakey. The cream cheese filling was good, and it did set as it cooled, not runny at all, in fact I could have cooked it less and it would have been fine. The crumb topping wasn't very crumbly; the butter just absorbed the flour until it was a paste. Cinnamon and brown sugar were not the right offsets to the flavor of the cream cheese. I would instead sprinkle the cake with powdered sugar a la Entenmenns cream cheese coffee cake. I may try the filling with another coffee cake recipe, or i will just keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
wonderful blend of fruit and cake - not overly sweet. i used fresh blueberries instead of preserves. everyone loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I made this Thanksgiving morning and it was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States