Cream Cheese-Filled Coffeecake With Fruit Preserves and Crumble Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Delicious and easy to modify. I found the crumb coating too sweet and cinnamon-y the first time, so I changed it to a half cup of non-packed dark brown sugar and only 1/4th teaspoon cinnamon, and then it was perfect. I also doubled the strawberry preserves because I felt there wasn't enough the first time around. The yogurt in the cake makes it the perfect texture, and the cream cheese is divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Without the modifications below to the batter to make the cake moister and fluffier, this is a 2 star cake. 1st try was very dense and dry. Start out by getting everything else ready, crumble, cream cheese mix (I add a little almond extract, if I am making blueberry then I also add blueberry extract) 1st, I used cake flour, adding about 3 tbsp per the conversion formulas I find online (1 1/2 c Plus 3 tbsp) also used 1 1/2 tsp baking powder, not 1 1/4. Let the butter come up to room temp before creaming thoroughly. I use about 7 tbsp, not 5. Use 2 eggs instead of 1 and separate white and yolks, put yolks into butter mixture and cream thoroughly, add the sour cream (didn't use yogurt). Add half the flour mixture (SIFTED), mix gently, then whip the egg whites till they peak. Gently fold in to batter with all remaining flour. Just mix/fold until all ingredients incorporated. Fill pan/pyrex, add cream cheese, then fruit, then nuts, then crumble. I don't know if our oven has drifted a bit, but I bake at 360 not 375, 55 minutes, let it cool down and get the heck out of the way. The original recipe needs AIR to make it fluff and also was very dry. After I master this to my expectations I am going to try the raspberry cream cheese recipe. (A different coffee cake recipe.) I am just about there. I've made this 4 or 5 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
My whole family loved this cake! it came out great and was very moist. I did make a couple alterations, I decided to make it strawberry banana flavored so I used strawberry creamcheese for the filling and instead of plain yogart I used strawberry banana, also I mashed up a banana and added it directly to the batter with the yogart rather than on top of the creamcheese. It was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
As others have said the cheese is great! However the batter is lacking in flavor and moisture. The crumble is good if you don't melt the butter just soften it. I will definitely use the cream cheese filling again I might try to adjust some ingredients to get the batter moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ellenz
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
I made this today, adding optional ingredients of chopped almonds in the crumb topping, cream cheese filling and raspberry/strawberry fruit and preserves. I did not understand why the recipe did not call to add the yogurt and all the other wet ingredients to the creamed butter/sugar/egg mixture, so I did it anyways. Then I mixed all the dry ingredients together and added them to the wet ones. There didn't seem like there was much of a batter layer, but it fluffed up very nicely once baked! I thought this was tasty but could have been better if there was some sort of spice added to the batter. The toppings were good, but the cake while light and fluffy, was kind of bland. I will make this again, but alter it by adding sour cream instead of yogurt, and I will make sure I add cinnamon, nutmeg, and maybe some candied minced ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was fantastic!! I made some peach compote to put on the cream cheese filling layer and it turned out to be the best desert I've ever made. My mom and I were instantly discussing what other kinds of compote we could put in this delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
i agree that it's not right to review a recipe if you don't make it according to specs. i'm not a pro at cooking but i depend on recipes and the reviews. but when the reviews are more ??? then the original recipe i get frustrated. but this recipe is great and in my basics-which a newcomer like me needs. i wish tho that if the recipe is doubled then the cook time reflected that. i so get that mustered. i have a house full of boys that are very patient with my cooking but they eat more than most of the recipes serving size!! BUT THEY LOVED THIS!! i love it when i get it right!!! i doubled the recipe and cooked just til it stopped wiggling when i shook the pan. NOTHING LEFT FOR BREAKFAST--WOOHOO!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
The concept of this coffee cake was good, but the cake portion is to dry for my family's taste. Chilling overnight resulted in a bit more moist cake, but still not what I was hoping for. I followed the recipe as written except that I added some fresh raspberries to the cream cheese layer since we had those on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Soooo good! I used all the filling options, and definitely think they're all needed for full flavor (beware though: give yourself a solid couple hours from start to finish!). The only thing I would change would be to add an all-over layer of raspberry preserves (or whatever the cook chooses for that layer), rather than just dollops. This layer brings out the refreshing aspect of the coffee cake, and helps balance the cream cheese and cake layers. Also, I only baked for a half hour, but my oven is pretty hot. And next time I would use the foil technique, just so the cake doesn't keep cooking once it's taken out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I was very disappointed in this recipe. So much so I wouldnt even know where to start to make it acceptable to my palate. Maybe just another recipe lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States