Cream Cheese Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Excellent with 1/4 c of sugar added as suggested by other reviewers. Next time will add the salt and baking soda, too. I doubled the recipe because I needed two crusts and ended up with much more dough than I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I worked at Sundance Resort and they had a killer berry dessert with a mouthwatering crust. When I asked the baker to show me how it was made, this was the exact recipe. She just pressed it onto a a cookie sheet, piled the berry filling in the middle and folded over the edge of the crust, pinching it to form a barrier. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Perfect. Used this for a veggie pizza. I need something easy and yeast free and this was it. I did add salt like others suggested and a little water at the end to bring it together. Put it in fridge for 20 minutes to get cool again, sprinkled with flour and rolled it out. No trouble at all. Baked to golden brown for 25 minutes on a cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I really love this crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
In addition to the recipe as written, I whisked together the flour, 2 rounded tablespoons powdered sugar and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Once the dough was formed, I placed it between 2 pieces of plastic wrap and rolled it into a disc. Then chilled for 1/2 hour before rolling out to fit the pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I have used this recipe several times and have found that with a couple of changes it is a pretty healthy substitute for the premade crusts that you buy at the store. I use whole wheat pastry flour, fat free cream cheese, and light butter (in a stick). It tastes great and I don't feel guilty about eating it. I have used this to make tartlets or mini quiche, have never used it for a sweet dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
AMAZING TRULY AMAZING and SOOOOOO easy! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suprmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This crust was amazing! I made a double batch for the Thanksgiving Pumpkin and Pecan pies, and it tasted delicious with both. I followed the advice of others in adding the sugar, salt, and baking powder. I didn't find it necessary to freeze the dough for a few minutes. I also wasn't able to press it into the pans, since it was a little tough coming out of the mixer. (May have been my fault, but none the less.) So I rolled it between the two sheets of wax paper. As for the pies; I know this crust was the key to their success. I made a regular canned pumpkin pie recipe, and even our young children (who "hate" pumpkin pie) loved it. Now; the pecan pie. All I can say is WOW. I used a recipe from here; just a standard pecan pie from what I could see compared to other pies on the site. My hubby, a self-proclaimed pecan pie disliker, gobbled it up. Our friend who was over, said it was the best pecan pie he'd ever had. To me it tasted like the pecan ball cookies my mom makes for the holidays... It had to be the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Yummy crust! Like others, I added 1/4 c. sugar, 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/4 tsp baking powder. I used unsalted butter. The recipe made enough for a single crust deep dish pie, plus a small snack struedel with the left over dough. Made a key lime pie, and can't wait to try it with a fruit pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
WOW! This was the easiest pie crust I've ever made. I read reviews of people adding sugar & salt. It really doesn't need anything other than what the recipe calls for. It's delicious as is. Very, very tasty crust. Nice cream cheese flavor. I did refrigerate the pie (I made a blueberry crumb pie) for 1 hour before baking to insure that the crust would be flakey which it was. I was tempted to pat it into the pie plate as one other reviewer suggested, however this dough was so easy to work with that there was no need. Roll it out, lift it up & place it into the pie plate without any problem. This will definitely be my go to pie crust from now on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States