Cream Cheese Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
WHOA!!!!!! huge typ-o!! Thats reflected in the 3 star rating. I have been making cream cheese cookies for years and it should be 8 OUNCES of cream cheese, not 3!!!! I can only imagine why people thought they tasted like flour, look at the recipe's stated proportion of flour to cream cheese! 3 oz. cream cheese for 2 1/2 cups flour? YIKES. I made this recipe with 8 oz. cream cheese and cut back the flour to 2 cups, and still think I could cut the flour back some more. They don't taste too rich with the 8 oz,. trust me, it will taste the way its supposed to...like a CREAM CHEESE COOKIE and not a flour cookie! For half my batch I pressed a fork into the cookies and sprinkled green sugar crystals on them, the other half I made thumbprints and filled with blackberry and apricot preserves. Yummy. Food coloring also works great with these cookies, especially if using a press!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
618 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Great recipe as is or with some variations. After making it as submitted several times, today I managed to create "strawberry cheesecake" cookies by adding 2/3 of a 3 oz box of strawberry jello. (I was too chicken to add the whole box, but I might next time). This made the cookies a bright pink color, which was perfect for my daughter's class Valentine's party tomorrow. I also used a full 8 oz of cream cheese this time, and was pleased with the results. I chilled the dough and then put it into my cookie press to make a heart shape. My husband said he loved them and wants me to do it this way again next time. Imagine the possibilities...green jello mix with a shamrock shape for St. Pat's Day or Christmas trees, orange jello for Halloween pumpkins... This recipe works so well for press cookies. I tried two or three other recipes with horrible results and now I always use this one. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I just tried these cookies for the second time. Te first time I followed the recipe exactly, except added more vanilla, and they tasted like flour. This time I added 8 oz. cream cheese and did them as a drop cookie because the dough was too sticky for a press. They are MUCH better this time. Soft cookies with a lot of cream cheese flavor!! I added chocolate chips to some and I made thumbprint cookies out of some. I put a bit of strawberry preserves in the tumbprint before baking. YUMMY! The plain ones are good as well! I will probably make these again. I gave it 4 stars because I had to alter the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I made these using the 8oz size Philly. I made them with "Splenda". I did not have time to bake them, so after I made the dough, I rolled the dough (I made three rolls) in plastic wrap and refrigerated them. I baked them as I needed them. They slice well, and keep well.I probably used them within 4 or 5 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Celina, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lily Zhu
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Great recipes and pretty straightforward! I used the stand mixer and the cookie press to do most of the work. I uploaded a photo of the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily Zhu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Fantastic cookies from a cookie press--just be sure not to overbake them. When they're done they still look pale and soft, and they'll harden as they cool. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
These are very rich and wonderful! I used an 8 oz. cream cheese as suggested in several of the reviews. I also filled some with strawberry jam, some with chocolate chips and even pressed a pecan half on some and sprinkled those with a little bit of sugar. One review said it tasted like play-dough. I have never eaten playdough but will try now if this is how it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I guess I should have read more of the reviews before I decided to use this recipe for my first time using a cookie press. Though I'm sure I could use practice, the dough didn't seem stiff enough. That said, I did manage to get a few sheets of very pretty cookies... I did put red raspberry preserves in the centers of about half of them. However, after all that work, I was really disappointed by the taste. I used 8 oz of cream cheese, as suggested by other users. They taste like a very mediocre shortbread... sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
There is not a single thing I would do to change this recipe except maybe double it. I have been baking for 45 years and I will put this recipe into my favorites for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I made these for my Christmas tray, and they were very good. I used almond extract instead of vanilla (which I read in one of these reviews..thanks). It gave the cookies a nice flavor. I wanted to add that I made a mistake and used an 8 oz. package of cream cheese instead of 3 oz (haha)...but you would never know! Everyone loved them, and it gave them a cake like texture...so keep that in mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States