Cream Cheese Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
My Mom has been making these cookies for Christmas since I was a little boy (48 now...). She always doubled the batch and made half green and half red (she used 8oz. cream cheese for each batch), then she Pressed them through cookie press in Tree shapes and wreath shapes. She used Chocolate, colored and many other type of sprinkles. She used Rum extract on a small handful of a batch. Every year everybody looked so forward to these cookies!!!! Now that she has passed I make them, but must have made a mistake with the flour when rewriting it.... they always tasted too flour-ey... but thanks to you great people I fixed it, made them and they are great!!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This is the same recipe that my grandmother who was born in 1903 used. It is correct as written. The cookies get there sweetness from the sugar spinkle on top. Instead of using a cookie press, I roll the cookies, dip in sprinkles and flatten with a glass bottom. They look like bakery cookies and ALWAYS get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
good recipe ...needed to use eight ounces cream cheese....they were good but wanted more cream cheese taste so added another three ounces....better...next time will use even more cream cheese....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I've had this recipe for years, but there are just a few slight alterations to this one. Reduce the flour to 2 1/4 cups, add 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the flour, and use 1/2 cup softened butter & 1/2 cup margarine. ( I most always use Land O Lakes for both). Chill the dough in fridge for about 30 minutes. Use cookie press as directed. This was passed down from my mom. They make the best cookies and taste even better a few days after they are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paulainwv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I made these cookies today with just two small changes to the recipe- used one whole package of cream cheese (8 ounces) rather than the 3 ounces as written in the original recipe and I doubled the amount of vanilla to 1 teaspoon. The cookies came out great- nice, delicate flavor and soooo easy to make. I sprinkled red and green colored sugar on top before I put them in the oven to make them more festive looking for Christmas. I will be adding this recipe as one of my regulars for Christmas cookie baking for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
First time using cookie press... a disaster. wound up just spooning the dough on a cookie sheet. Very disappointed. BUT.....the tasted great with some strawberry jam in the centers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
These are my favorite! I have the same recipe, I've made'em a zillion times, they don't need more cream cheese, my recipe calls for 1/4 teaspoon of salt, I roll the dough in the balls and press with flour dipped fork, keep them in the 375 degree oven untill golden brown( only takes a few minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Something must be wrong with this ingredient list, b/c 2 1/2 cups of flour was way too much... the cookies tasted very floury when they were finished. Either they would need more of everything else or less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guyton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I have been making these for years & I always use 8 oz of cream cheese & only 2 cups of flour. I usually make these for Christmas & use the star tip on my cookie press. I put red and green candied cherries on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
i made a variety of homemade cookies for my wedding last december, and these were amazing! i did follow the advice of some of the other chefs and changed the recipe to 8 ounces of sour cream and cut back on the flour a bit. my four star rating is only because the original needs to be altered. thank you for this recipe robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States