Cream Cheese Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Great recipe as is or with some variations. After making it as submitted several times, today I managed to create "strawberry cheesecake" cookies by adding 2/3 of a 3 oz box of strawberry jello. (I was too chicken to add the whole box, but I might next time). This made the cookies a bright pink color, which was perfect for my daughter's class Valentine's party tomorrow. I also used a full 8 oz of cream cheese this time, and was pleased with the results. I chilled the dough and then put it into my cookie press to make a heart shape. My husband said he loved them and wants me to do it this way again next time. Imagine the possibilities...green jello mix with a shamrock shape for St. Pat's Day or Christmas trees, orange jello for Halloween pumpkins... This recipe works so well for press cookies. I tried two or three other recipes with horrible results and now I always use this one. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was great. I took someone's advice and used a full 8oz of cream cheese and cut the flour down to 2 cups. No cookie press, no problem. Don't waste the time, they'll be gone long before anyone can look at them. I also topped each one off with a dollop of cream cheese frosting and wow! The only mistake with this recipe is not quadrupling it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Fast and oh-so-easy to make, these cookies are delicious and very creamy! A great change from chocolate chip, peanut butter and oatmeal! They're great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Excellent!! Added 8 oz. of cream cheese instead of 3 oz.as suggested in a review and sprinkled colored sugar on top.....Once I tasted the cookie, I closed my eyes as it took me back to my early childhood days. I lost the recipe sooo many years ago, but here it is...THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
WHOA!!!!!! huge typ-o!! Thats reflected in the 3 star rating. I have been making cream cheese cookies for years and it should be 8 OUNCES of cream cheese, not 3!!!! I can only imagine why people thought they tasted like flour, look at the recipe's stated proportion of flour to cream cheese! 3 oz. cream cheese for 2 1/2 cups flour? YIKES. I made this recipe with 8 oz. cream cheese and cut back the flour to 2 cups, and still think I could cut the flour back some more. They don't taste too rich with the 8 oz,. trust me, it will taste the way its supposed to...like a CREAM CHEESE COOKIE and not a flour cookie! For half my batch I pressed a fork into the cookies and sprinkled green sugar crystals on them, the other half I made thumbprints and filled with blackberry and apricot preserves. Yummy. Food coloring also works great with these cookies, especially if using a press!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
619 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I think these cookies taste much better and lighter after the first day. The night I baked them, they tasted mostly like flour. Perhaps a smidge more of cream cheese, a cherry on top, or a sprinkle of colored sugar might do the trick... I'm not sure. These cookies also turned out dense because I did not have a cookie press available. In lieu, I rolled the dough into little balls and flattened them a bit. These cookies hold their consistency extremely well and do not spread, so I recommend the cookie press if you're concerned about presentation. Without the cookie press, they look very plain and unappetizing. Also dropping them by spoonfuls, makes them look more like miniature biscuits than cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Five stars if you prepare this recipe my way -- which is to say that you use 4 oz. of cream cheese, not the suggested 3 oz. (Four stars if you use less than 4 oz. of cream cheese. If you use more than four, the cream cheese could make it too rich.) Also, pecan halves on top are what make these cookies especially dreamy. Make sure you put the pecans on before the cookies go in the oven -- so that they get nice and roasty-crunchy. Also, I found that I had to cook these cookies a little longer than 15 minutes. Depends on your oven, I guess. Also, I do recommend chilling the dough for at least an hour. I pinched off dough and rolled it into small balls then pressed pecans and candied cherry halves (red and green) onto each before baking. It made about 4 dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
These cookies are okay. When you try these cookies, don't think that they are going to taste just like cheesecake. They do have a nice cheesecake-like texture, but they taste more like flour than cheesecake. I made these cookies with a cookie press and only baked them for 10 minutes. I didn't add anything to them, but they would probably be great with chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Very good Robin! I rolled these into balls, made an indentation with a wine bottle cork and filled them with raspberry preserves. So pretty and festive looking too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I personally didn't care much for them but my family thought they were great.(And they are very picky.) I had to flatten them with a spoon because they wouldn't spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States