Cream Cheese Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I don't know what to think of these! they held their shape well, but they were dense and filling little things. The taste was mild; not sweet, but cheesy. I used the 8 oz pkg and jello like other reviewers. Tasted fine, but I think if I want cheesecake flavor I'll make the real thing. If I want cookies then I'll make cookies. These were kind of like cheesecake biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I was so excited to try my new cookie press out, and even moreso when I found a recipe that called for the cream cheese I needed to use up! And then my cookie press didn't press the cookies out properly... So I just did drop cookies. I did a half-batch, used margarine instead of butter, and I used 4 ounces of cream cheese in the half-batch. Only using 3 ounces for a full batch is crazy, you want to TASTE the cheese! I used half a yolk, more like a teaspoon of vanilla, and only a cup of flour. With all the required changes, the original recipe only rates 4, but my end product was a 5. Soft, cheesy, and delicious. :) Thanks so much for the recipe, Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Thanks BMALY...I came across your review yesterday and decided I had to try these w/your suggestion of the jello thus being able to color my Valentine's cookies w/the red in the jello. I only had raspberry and was hesitant but used it anyway and it tastes like raspberry cheesecake...used 4 tbsp. of jello powder. I am sure I would love the strawberry better and that is just a great suggestion. Thanks to the other reviewers for straightening out the cream cheese measurement. I used the full 8oz. but kept the flour the same. They ran beautifully through my electric press w/heart stencil. Press died half way through so I then used small size scoop and rolled the top in red sugar and used the heart stencil and pressed down on top flattening out the cookie and creating a heart on top...they came out so cute...3D effect. Don't throw away your stencils if your cookie press gives out. They smelled wonderfully baking and came out like a picture; no sticking to the sheet and have a buttery mild cream cheese flavor. With the correct amt. of cream cheese, these are a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Great recipe as is or with some variations. After making it as submitted several times, today I managed to create "strawberry cheesecake" cookies by adding 2/3 of a 3 oz box of strawberry jello. (I was too chicken to add the whole box, but I might next time). This made the cookies a bright pink color, which was perfect for my daughter's class Valentine's party tomorrow. I also used a full 8 oz of cream cheese this time, and was pleased with the results. I chilled the dough and then put it into my cookie press to make a heart shape. My husband said he loved them and wants me to do it this way again next time. Imagine the possibilities...green jello mix with a shamrock shape for St. Pat's Day or Christmas trees, orange jello for Halloween pumpkins... This recipe works so well for press cookies. I tried two or three other recipes with horrible results and now I always use this one. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was great. I took someone's advice and used a full 8oz of cream cheese and cut the flour down to 2 cups. No cookie press, no problem. Don't waste the time, they'll be gone long before anyone can look at them. I also topped each one off with a dollop of cream cheese frosting and wow! The only mistake with this recipe is not quadrupling it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Fast and oh-so-easy to make, these cookies are delicious and very creamy! A great change from chocolate chip, peanut butter and oatmeal! They're great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Excellent!! Added 8 oz. of cream cheese instead of 3 oz.as suggested in a review and sprinkled colored sugar on top.....Once I tasted the cookie, I closed my eyes as it took me back to my early childhood days. I lost the recipe sooo many years ago, but here it is...THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
WHOA!!!!!! huge typ-o!! Thats reflected in the 3 star rating. I have been making cream cheese cookies for years and it should be 8 OUNCES of cream cheese, not 3!!!! I can only imagine why people thought they tasted like flour, look at the recipe's stated proportion of flour to cream cheese! 3 oz. cream cheese for 2 1/2 cups flour? YIKES. I made this recipe with 8 oz. cream cheese and cut back the flour to 2 cups, and still think I could cut the flour back some more. They don't taste too rich with the 8 oz,. trust me, it will taste the way its supposed to...like a CREAM CHEESE COOKIE and not a flour cookie! For half my batch I pressed a fork into the cookies and sprinkled green sugar crystals on them, the other half I made thumbprints and filled with blackberry and apricot preserves. Yummy. Food coloring also works great with these cookies, especially if using a press!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
607 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I think these cookies taste much better and lighter after the first day. The night I baked them, they tasted mostly like flour. Perhaps a smidge more of cream cheese, a cherry on top, or a sprinkle of colored sugar might do the trick... I'm not sure. These cookies also turned out dense because I did not have a cookie press available. In lieu, I rolled the dough into little balls and flattened them a bit. These cookies hold their consistency extremely well and do not spread, so I recommend the cookie press if you're concerned about presentation. Without the cookie press, they look very plain and unappetizing. Also dropping them by spoonfuls, makes them look more like miniature biscuits than cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Five stars if you prepare this recipe my way -- which is to say that you use 4 oz. of cream cheese, not the suggested 3 oz. (Four stars if you use less than 4 oz. of cream cheese. If you use more than four, the cream cheese could make it too rich.) Also, pecan halves on top are what make these cookies especially dreamy. Make sure you put the pecans on before the cookies go in the oven -- so that they get nice and roasty-crunchy. Also, I found that I had to cook these cookies a little longer than 15 minutes. Depends on your oven, I guess. Also, I do recommend chilling the dough for at least an hour. I pinched off dough and rolled it into small balls then pressed pecans and candied cherry halves (red and green) onto each before baking. It made about 4 dozen cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States