Cream Cheese Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by IMJEN2
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
WITH 8 OZ CREAM CHEESE as other reviewers recommended, I give this 5 stars. I also used lemon extract and filled the centers with rasberry jam. They were perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Mmmmmm. 3oz definitely a typo.....use 8oz. added mini choc chips and frosted with Cream Cheese Frosting II. Decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Summitville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
In my opinion these were just alright, not great. I did follow the advice of some of the other reviewers to increase the cream cheese and decrease the flour. I also tinted them green for St. Patty's Day and sprinkled green sugar on top. Cute, just not fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I don't know what to think of these! they held their shape well, but they were dense and filling little things. The taste was mild; not sweet, but cheesy. I used the 8 oz pkg and jello like other reviewers. Tasted fine, but I think if I want cheesecake flavor I'll make the real thing. If I want cookies then I'll make cookies. These were kind of like cheesecake biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I was so excited to try my new cookie press out, and even moreso when I found a recipe that called for the cream cheese I needed to use up! And then my cookie press didn't press the cookies out properly... So I just did drop cookies. I did a half-batch, used margarine instead of butter, and I used 4 ounces of cream cheese in the half-batch. Only using 3 ounces for a full batch is crazy, you want to TASTE the cheese! I used half a yolk, more like a teaspoon of vanilla, and only a cup of flour. With all the required changes, the original recipe only rates 4, but my end product was a 5. Soft, cheesy, and delicious. :) Thanks so much for the recipe, Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Thanks BMALY...I came across your review yesterday and decided I had to try these w/your suggestion of the jello thus being able to color my Valentine's cookies w/the red in the jello. I only had raspberry and was hesitant but used it anyway and it tastes like raspberry cheesecake...used 4 tbsp. of jello powder. I am sure I would love the strawberry better and that is just a great suggestion. Thanks to the other reviewers for straightening out the cream cheese measurement. I used the full 8oz. but kept the flour the same. They ran beautifully through my electric press w/heart stencil. Press died half way through so I then used small size scoop and rolled the top in red sugar and used the heart stencil and pressed down on top flattening out the cookie and creating a heart on top...they came out so cute...3D effect. Don't throw away your stencils if your cookie press gives out. They smelled wonderfully baking and came out like a picture; no sticking to the sheet and have a buttery mild cream cheese flavor. With the correct amt. of cream cheese, these are a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Great recipe as is or with some variations. After making it as submitted several times, today I managed to create "strawberry cheesecake" cookies by adding 2/3 of a 3 oz box of strawberry jello. (I was too chicken to add the whole box, but I might next time). This made the cookies a bright pink color, which was perfect for my daughter's class Valentine's party tomorrow. I also used a full 8 oz of cream cheese this time, and was pleased with the results. I chilled the dough and then put it into my cookie press to make a heart shape. My husband said he loved them and wants me to do it this way again next time. Imagine the possibilities...green jello mix with a shamrock shape for St. Pat's Day or Christmas trees, orange jello for Halloween pumpkins... This recipe works so well for press cookies. I tried two or three other recipes with horrible results and now I always use this one. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This was great. I took someone's advice and used a full 8oz of cream cheese and cut the flour down to 2 cups. No cookie press, no problem. Don't waste the time, they'll be gone long before anyone can look at them. I also topped each one off with a dollop of cream cheese frosting and wow! The only mistake with this recipe is not quadrupling it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Fast and oh-so-easy to make, these cookies are delicious and very creamy! A great change from chocolate chip, peanut butter and oatmeal! They're great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Excellent!! Added 8 oz. of cream cheese instead of 3 oz.as suggested in a review and sprinkled colored sugar on top.....Once I tasted the cookie, I closed my eyes as it took me back to my early childhood days. I lost the recipe sooo many years ago, but here it is...THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States