Cream Cheese Coffee Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
The first time I made this the filling was sour. So, I changed the filling to an 8oz. cream cheese, cut the lemon juice to a teaspoon and added 1/2 tsp vanilla. I have had many, many requests for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
MY GOD! This is to die for! So good, I wouldn't take any to work for the girls to try, I just emailed them the recipe...let them do it themselves! This is going to be a favorite in our home! :0) You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
this cake was heavenly... very nice texture, and the cream chees filling was great.. a couple of ideas.. double the amount of the filling, and add a little vanilla extract to it.. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Goes to show, everyone has different tastes. Made this as directed and the family didn't care for it. Said the cream cheese filling was too sour due to the lemon juice. Tasted like sour cream globbed in the center. So, I made another one and omitted the lemon juice. Added 1 tsp of vanilla instead. Much better! Modified...it was a hit. The cake portion was perfect with the filling and topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Very Good! Very moist, flavorful, and hard to stop picking at. I doubled the recipe and made it in a bundt pan with the streusel layer on top of the cream cheese layer. I also added cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg to the batter. There was too much batter and filling for one bundt pan when doubling, so I made a second cake using a round cakepan and gave it to the neighbors (who loved it). Will make again--would be great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
As of right now this cake has left the building in my families stomachs. It was awsome. the texture was great and it was also moist. I followed everyones suggestion and used 8 oz of cream cheese and it was actually perfect. Also I used juice from a freshly cut orange instead of lemon juice and the filling tasted even sweeter. It was definitely better than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
My family loved this cake. I thought it was OK but I've had better. It was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Received compliments from people who normally don't hand them out. Delicious, I doubled the filling and put the nut mixture on the bottom of the bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I loved this recipe! I'm not a sweet eater. Neither is my dad. When my dad tried it he said it was the cake for him. :) I do kinda agree the filling was a little sour. But I just don't add as much lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larisa Chubaruk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I reduced the lemon to 1 teaspoon and made 12 large muffins. A little hard to get out of the muffin tin because of the soft middle, but very tasty. Went quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States