Cream Cheese Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I feel like there is very little taste to these cookies. I have tons of cookies now so i'm trying to find a cream cheese icing to add some flavor....and i did everything to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Steward

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I gave these cookies 3 stars because they did look beautiful but they tasted plain and boring. you could taste a little bit of the cream cheese but that was the only flavor. I didn't like the texture either it was not chewy or cakey it was just different. My husband said they tasted like malt o meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Delicious! Didn't change recipe at all and turned out perfectly. Used serated knife to cut dough. Didn't have a problem at all and I only refrigerated for 2 hours. Will be a staple recipe throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Excellent cookie! It's a lot of trouble, but I developed a system that seemed to work for me. I put the parcels of dough in the freezer for a while, then was able to better shape them into round rather than square logs. I kept them in the freezer for a while longer and rolled them in the colored sugar. That also helped to round them. I returned them to the freezer for a while longer, then just brought out enough to cut for one cookie sheet. They were easy to slice, pretty much retained their shape, and didn't stick to the knife blade. While one sheet was in the oven I prepared the next one, and by the time it was ready to go into the oven, the dough was soft enough that I could easily tweak the shape if necessary. I used chopped pecans on top, and they added a wonderful toasted nut flavor. I used purchased colored sugar because I wanted the large crystals. One thing I noticed that no other reviewer seems to have mentioned is that the sugar caramelized a little and added an extra dimension of flavor and crunch. Definitely a good addition to any Christmas cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I found this recipe over 10 years now, This site was called CookieRecipe.com at that time. I have made them every year at Christmas time and LOVE them! This year I made the dough on Sunday evening knowing I would busy during the work week and just made them 2 days later and they turned out beautifully. Excellent cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
These were really good, but you have to refrigerate them for a long time. I had them in there for about 9 hours and it still wasn't long enough. The first batch looked really sloppy and disfigured! So with the rest of them I sliced the rolls and then molded the cookies with my hands to make nice circles. Then I dipped the tops of the cookies in the colored sugar and the ugly batch got dipped in chocolate. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Soto, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These are awesome! They also were very easy to make. This one is a keeper. Not too sweet, creamy yet a little crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
These cookies are yummy! I didn't let them sit overnight or wrap them, I just dropped them onto a cookie sheet (after a few minutes in the freezer) and pushed the sprinkles down on the top of them. I thought they were prettier this way, I didn't have to wait til the next day to finish them and they tasted just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
We like everything less sweet, so we were attracted by the criticism that this recipes wasn't "sweet enough". We omitted the nuts, replaced sugar with honey and added little white chocolate and dried cranberry (no sprinkles). Used this recipe for Valentine's Day and shaped them into hearts. They kept shape nicely and were delicious. I noticed they seemed to take a long time to brown, and then seemed to suddenly brown quickly at the end. I've tried many cream cheese cookies recipes, and this is the best I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Keeper Excellent not too sweet and very pretty for any holiday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States