Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I like the taste and blend of the crust ingredients. However, the topping was too thin and would not set after baking. I would suggest baking the crust/chocolate chips, p/nut butter chips first then after cooling add a cream cheese topping, maybe Cool Whip and cream cheese/sugar blended together. Maybe shave some chocolate on top for ganish or sprinkle w/mini-chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monticello, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I did an ingredient search for a few items I had on hand and this recipe came up. I was shocked how much XXX sugar it asked for, so I used only 1/3 of a box when other reviews said it was so sweet. I also took their advice and used only half the chocolate chips. My only problem was I had no cake mix, so I used a packaged muffin mix, and it did fine. The cooking time and oven temp is not right, and I bumped it up to 325 like the others did. The consistancy is good and I had no problems with runniness. But would have liked a denser cream cheese -- this is a bit spongy. I am giving this only two stars because I had to change the recipe for it to come out right, on the advice of the other reviews. Taste is okay but nothing special-- won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I just made this for Easter. It was not a big hit. I hated the crust since I hate box cake mix. I had to bake it longer like the others said. Sorry it was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I followed the recipe as written except I used one 10 ounce bag of milk chocolate and peanut butter chips and I baked at 325 for 55 minutes. Yes, these are very, very rich and sweet but my family loved them. After cooling for about one hour these still required a fork to eat, but overnight they firmed up very nicely and could be cut into neat little bars. Next time I will make them the day before I plan to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasBecky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
YUMMMM!!! I made this the other day because I had all the ingredients on hand and it was delicious! It is very rich, but oh so good. My hubby and son loved it, I took a piece into work for a girl, and she loved it. Next time, I may add peanut butter chips to it also, and try to cut back on the 10x sugar, but I do know this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
This was very good, but we thought, (even the kids), that there was way too much chocolate chips and it took away from the taste of everything else. Next time I make I will cut the chips down to 1 cup. Did take other reviewers advice and baked at 325 for about 35 minutes. Consistency was great! Thanks Lana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Really easy to make. I kept them in the fridge and every time that I cut a piece I would microwave for 25 seconds and top with a dollop (or two) of whipped cream. Alot of chocolate which was more than okay with me. No problem with the cream cheese being runny. Came out great. Finished last crumb in bed last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lodi, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This recipe works very well as written. Because of personal tastes next time I will cut sugar back by a 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I chose this recipe while looking for something special to make with my boyfriend's son. He loves to help me cook and I love teaching him! This was easy and we had fun making it but he ate very little of it all weekend. It is very rich and sweet. Almost too much chocolate. His sister loves it so I cut some in very small squares and sent a plate home with them! Not sure if I will try this again and cut back a bit on the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
Excellent!! Very sweet & rich just the way I like it. I baked it on 325 instead of 300. The cream cheese top will remain gogey even if refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States