Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2001
Rich! Kids didn't like them, nor the husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
These were without a doubt the richest bars I have ever tasted!! Would be great for family gatherings since one piece is all you can eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Thanks, Lana! I had lost this recipe and you have restored it to me. It is always a big success, because it tastes so rich, people think that you slaved over it. My children have always liked them, even though it is rich and you can't eat much at a time. To my mind, that is an advantage that keeps you from overeating! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Very yummy! Not too rich for our family! I thought it would have been helpful to know how long I would have to mix the top layer before it got "fluffy". Mine never seemed to get to that point, but it still tasted great! I also had to bake it longer than the recipe said--more like 1 hour. I took this dessert to two different gatherings and got compliments both places! Thanks, Lana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Very, very VERY rich bars. I liked the chewy-ness of the bottom layer, but the topping was too gooey for our tastes. I MIGHT make this again and use only two eggs and less sugar in the topping. Also, the cooking time was off...I baked it for 50 minutes at 300 as directed and it was still a runny mess. I ended up increasing the oven temp to 350 for a bit longer and it finally got cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELTON463

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
Excellent!! Very sweet & rich just the way I like it. I baked it on 325 instead of 300. The cream cheese top will remain gogey even if refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
We really enjoyed this recipe. It reminded my husband and me of chess cake with chocolate chips. I do agree though that there is a problem with the baking time and/or temperature. I wound up going with 350 for 30 minutes. The dessert actually came out a little too overcooked so next time I'll try using 325. Otherwise, the recipe was easy to make, very tasty and kept well in the freezer for future snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
Ok, I think this the trick: 1. Use a 17" x 11" pan (then the cream cheese egg layer isn't too thick) 2. Use only 2 eggs for the top layer. 3. Bake @ 350 for 40 minutes. 4. Omit vanilla 5. I used less choc. chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
There are no words good enough to describe these bars. I made them at Thanksgiving and the whole plate was gone, even though there was plenty of other desserts left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
YUMMY - It did take longer to bake. Will be upping the temperature next time. The thing I love is being able to tweek this. I used a devil's food cake mix and threw in some peanut butter chips, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States