Cream Cheese Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I chose this recipe while looking for something special to make with my boyfriend's son. He loves to help me cook and I love teaching him! This was easy and we had fun making it but he ate very little of it all weekend. It is very rich and sweet. Almost too much chocolate. His sister loves it so I cut some in very small squares and sent a plate home with them! Not sure if I will try this again and cut back a bit on the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
YUMMMM!!! I made this the other day because I had all the ingredients on hand and it was delicious! It is very rich, but oh so good. My hubby and son loved it, I took a piece into work for a girl, and she loved it. Next time, I may add peanut butter chips to it also, and try to cut back on the 10x sugar, but I do know this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I followed the recipe as written except I used one 10 ounce bag of milk chocolate and peanut butter chips and I baked at 325 for 55 minutes. Yes, these are very, very rich and sweet but my family loved them. After cooling for about one hour these still required a fork to eat, but overnight they firmed up very nicely and could be cut into neat little bars. Next time I will make them the day before I plan to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasBecky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
The consistency of the cream cheese mixture was too runny and it wasn't enough to cover the 9x13 pan. The taste was average. Disappointed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hartford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
These were great at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Very easy to make and oohh so good. These are very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This recipe is similar to my Cream Cheese Bars (or Ooey-Gooey Bars). The only difference is that this recipe calls for the chocolate chips and an extra egg in the top layer. This is very good...rich and sweet. Don't eat too much or you'll get a tummy ache. My only complaint with this recipe and my own is that the crust doesn't keep very long. It gets a stale or old taste after just a day or so. Definitely try this recipe. It's easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I baked these at 350 for 45 minutes. They were a little gooey but when cut with a hot knife not "uncuttable". They were rich and yummy and tasted like I had slaved all day over them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Delicious. I accidentally bought milk chocolate chips instead so I used those. I had a french vanilla white cake mix in the cupboard so I used that instead of yellow. I used reduced fat, not far free cream cheese too. For the topping I ended up using about 2/3 -3/4 of the amount of sugar listed and 2 eggs instead of 3. I also baked this for ~45 minutes at 350. The hardest part of this recipe is cutting the bars and yes you do need to wait until this is really cool before you cut them.. would be a mess otherwise. Very rich and yummy and I am glad I am getting them out of the house tomorrow morning because I want to eat them all myself. :) I made the bars smaller and ended up with anbout 55 bars from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I really like this recipe because it's easy and delicious. I like to switch out the chocolate for fresh sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States