Cream Cheese Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
5 stars with modifications: add a clove of garlic and a bag of baby spinach when sauting mushrooms and up the cream cheese to 8 oz. Put mushroom mixture in 6 dollops on a plate and refrigerate until cool. This makes it a lot easier for spreading. I didn't use the brown sugar or walnuts but put buttered bread crumbs over the mustard. I baked it at 375 for 25 minutes. This is very delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I'm sorry, but my family didn't care for this recipe at all. We didn't like the way it tasted, although parts of it were okay. I thought the cream cheese/mushroom filling was good, but I didn't like the dijon taste or the walnuts. Also, I found it to be a huge pain to assemble. Even with the chicken breasts pounded flat, the cream cheese and mushrooms kept oozing out. This made it extremely difficult to get it into the mustard/brown sugar mixture, which was also a big, gooey mess. Not at all worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I followed many of the previous suggestions. I combined spinach, garlic, and reduced fat cream cheese for the filling and refrigerated it to make it easier to spread. Also substituted honey mustard for dijon, omitted the brown sugar, and used bread crumbs instead of nuts. We just finished eating and I've already gotten multiple requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I subbed pecans for walnuts and added shredded parmesan to the top of the chicken before baking. It was FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I only used 2 chicken breasts since there's no way that we could have eaten 6 of them! I also butterflied the breasts to get 4 thin pieces of meat. I halved all the other ingredients and the proportions came out perfect. I also omitted the nuts because I didn't have any on hand. However, the recipe made pretty tastey and unique chicken. I absolutely love the cream cheese and mushroom combination. I think I might make hors oeuvres with them the next time we have guests. My only complaint with this dish is that the brown sugar/mustard sauce did not quite go with the flavors going on with the cream cheese/mushrooms. The sugar seemed to compete with the cheese, but would probably go great on the chicken alone. I would have much preferred a white wine sauce, lemon sauce or an alfredo sauce to compliment this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This was AWESOME! Excellent cold for lunch the next day. I put in a little extra filling. Used big breasts and sliced them. Worked well. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This is one of those recipes that I didn't know right away if I liked it or not because of the variety of tastes. After about the third bite, I realized I liked it very much. Plus, after I had placed it on my plate and sliced it,it looked like something out of Gourmet Magazine. My husband didn't care for the filling and he suggested I use stuffing instead - we'll see. I rolled some in bread crumbs and liked the taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Great recipe. Fixed for company and received rave reviews. Added chopped onion and marinated artichoke hearts to mushroom and cream cheese mixture and it was wonderful - very tasty. It's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Excellent! Even my picky husband loved this recipe. We didn't have any mushrooms, but the chicken still tasted fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
This chicken is WONDERFUL! I rolled it in chopped cashews instead of walnuts. It came out looking very elegant, like something you would order at a restaurant, and it was so quick and EASY! I loved the mix of flavors. My boyfriend was totally impressed!! Will definitely be making this again...Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States