Cream Cheese Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
For those who might be turned off by mushrooms: My eldest son is very picky about onions and mushrooms and lately has been a pain in the nether regions to feed, so in order to accomodate his palate, I substituted the mushrooms with a chopped apple (I had Macintosh on hand). I prepared it all the same way as listed in the recipe, sautéing the apple chunks in butter before adding the cream cheese to melt and all, and it turned out just lovely. Picky eater turned up his nose at the walnuts (which he liked a few days ago, argh) but he did still eat the chicken and cream cheese stuffing. I'd love to try the original version when I have mushroom-friendly guests over, but I'll also make the apple version again. And another thing, I was quite pleased with the presentation. It does make a pretty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vaudreuil-Dorion, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This recipe was very good! Lacking a little flavor so I recommend adding a little salt and pepper as well as garlic to the mix. I also found it helpful to refridgerate the mixture before spreading it on the chicken breast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cosmo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Our family really enjoyed this recipe & I will make it again. My 8 year old just loved it & had several helpings! I seasoned the chicken & used pecans instead of walnuts. It was pretty easy to do but the chicken was a bit difficult to roll in the nuts. I think next time I will line the bottom with nuts before coating the chicken w/the brown sugar/dijon mixture. Then I will put the chicken in the pan and press the nuts on the tops/sides. I think it will be a bit less messy that way. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raynorra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I subbed pecans for walnuts and added shredded parmesan to the top of the chicken before baking. It was FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was OK. I really did like the variety of flavor it offered, but it really was a hassle to put together and bake. If I make this again I will simply put the sauce on the chicken, roll in the nuts and bake, then add the cream cheese mixture afterwards. I think it would be good to either top the chicken with the mixture or use it as a bed for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Sorry to say we just really didn't care for it. Maybe it was the mustard I used, but none of us liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I really played around with this recipe. I added onions, garlic, bacon( I keep extra bacon cooked in the freezer) and a Wisconsin cheddar/ blue cheese to the mix. I also mixed the walnuts with bread crumbs because I did'nt have enough walnuts. This isn't something that you should eat very often, but worked with unexpected company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Delicious! Next time I might cut back a little on the sugar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This recipe was okay. I followed some of the other reviews and added garlic and spinach to the cream cheese mixture, which was great. However, the recipe as a whole was a mess to clean up and not all that good. I thought it was a little bland, and I didnt care for the brown sugar and mustard mixture. A meh recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I too added spinach. I may have used a little too much cream cheese but I liked the recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States