Cream Cheese Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I give this recipe 5 stars not because the taste is out of this world, but because I think the recipe is perfect for what it's intended to make - little mint candies (my family is not mint fanatics, so I didn't make this recipe thinking we'd go nuts over the flavor). This is a very easy recipe that yields a creamy, flavorful, versatile candy. I read all the reviews prior to making the candy and then made modifications on proportions of extract and sugar as many indicated. HOWEVER, if I were to do it over, I would have followed the recipe exactly as written, because in reality, I think the proportions are probably right on, or at the very least, the best place from which to start tweaking the recipe if needed (the most seemingly informed reviews were not at all on target and led to lots of tweaking of the cream cheese, extract, and sugar proportions).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe. I use 1-2# bag of powdered sugar, 1 8oz cream, and a little more than 1/2 t. flavoring. To save time, I just roll the dough into logs and slice into 1/2" pieces. I also don't use granulated sugar at all. It definetly take away from the creaminess of the mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe is easy and delicious! I took another raters suggestion and used an 8oz brick of cream cheese with a 2 lb bag of confectioners sugar. I used enough sugar to keep the mixture from being sticky (almost the whole bag) After forming into balls I flattened with a small glass dipped in leftover sugar, froze them, and then dipped them in melted dark chocolate. They are great! I will use this recipe many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mphelps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This recipe looks like it could not be easier and with all the great reviews, I was excited to give it a try. I attempted it three times and each time the end result was like eating a flattened out piece of cake icing. I like icing but this was extreme! I will not be making this again. My kids even commented on the sweetness and those types of comments aren't usually uttered from childrens mouths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
These turned out great! I wanted to try them ahead of time since some seemed to have some problems. I think it might be they used an 8 oz package of cream cheese. 3oz is plenty to help the sugar stick together. I did put it in the fridge for about 15 min to harden it before shaping and placed them on wax paper to prevent sticking. Can't wait to make these again for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
These were soooo goood!!!! My 10 yr. old made them for a valentine "sale" in his classroom. (We chose this recipe 'cause it is no bake). Because they taste like Peppermint Patties, we dipped in chocolate. They went over very well. The first time we make them, the dough was dry, so I added couple of TBSP. milk, and it worked great. We also made batch that we rolled out and made heart shaped. They need to be thick to be dipped in chocolate, otherwise it went well. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
A little too sweet, and minty. Not really my style. I was hoping for more of a true cream cheese taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made these for Christmas plates that we give to friends. I only used 1/2 the amount of peppermint extract called for and used vanilla to make up the rest of the 1/4 teaspoon. This flavor was amazing! I also flattened the balls with the waffled end of my meat mallet which made a pretty crosshatch pattern, then sprinkled with green and red sugars. They were beautiful, looked so festive. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
These mints are unbelievable.So delicious. Time consuming unless you can talk friends or family into helping but definately worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Ryder Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Easy and tasty little things. Used almond flavoring instead of peppermint... got excellent reviews from the Christmas nibblers! Will definitely make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States