Cream Cheese Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe is easy and delicious! I took another raters suggestion and used an 8oz brick of cream cheese with a 2 lb bag of confectioners sugar. I used enough sugar to keep the mixture from being sticky (almost the whole bag) After forming into balls I flattened with a small glass dipped in leftover sugar, froze them, and then dipped them in melted dark chocolate. They are great! I will use this recipe many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mphelps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This recipe looks like it could not be easier and with all the great reviews, I was excited to give it a try. I attempted it three times and each time the end result was like eating a flattened out piece of cake icing. I like icing but this was extreme! I will not be making this again. My kids even commented on the sweetness and those types of comments aren't usually uttered from childrens mouths!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
These turned out great! I wanted to try them ahead of time since some seemed to have some problems. I think it might be they used an 8 oz package of cream cheese. 3oz is plenty to help the sugar stick together. I did put it in the fridge for about 15 min to harden it before shaping and placed them on wax paper to prevent sticking. Can't wait to make these again for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
These were soooo goood!!!! My 10 yr. old made them for a valentine "sale" in his classroom. (We chose this recipe 'cause it is no bake). Because they taste like Peppermint Patties, we dipped in chocolate. They went over very well. The first time we make them, the dough was dry, so I added couple of TBSP. milk, and it worked great. We also made batch that we rolled out and made heart shaped. They need to be thick to be dipped in chocolate, otherwise it went well. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
A little too sweet, and minty. Not really my style. I was hoping for more of a true cream cheese taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made these for Christmas plates that we give to friends. I only used 1/2 the amount of peppermint extract called for and used vanilla to make up the rest of the 1/4 teaspoon. This flavor was amazing! I also flattened the balls with the waffled end of my meat mallet which made a pretty crosshatch pattern, then sprinkled with green and red sugars. They were beautiful, looked so festive. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
These mints are unbelievable.So delicious. Time consuming unless you can talk friends or family into helping but definately worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Easy and tasty little things. Used almond flavoring instead of peppermint... got excellent reviews from the Christmas nibblers! Will definitely make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have had this same recipe for over 20 years. My kids beg me to make these very christmas! I roll them in small balls,, dip the balls in red and green sugar, then flatten with a fork. I read that some people had trouble with drying... try using food coloring paste instead of drops. the liquid is just enough to hamper drying time. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy.marchand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaay
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I found pretty much the same recipe in my Kitchen-Aide Mixer cookbook (not the booklet that comes with the mixer, but an actual cookbook sold in bookstores). It's been a while since I made these, but they were so easy and really tasty, not to mention they looked really cute. I suggest adding a little green or pink food coloring to get the desired color. I also rolled my mints in granulated sugar before flattening with a fork. After checking I see that the measurements for my recipe were a little different and are as follows: 3 oz light cream cheese 1/3 teaspoon peppermint extract 2-3 drops green food coloring (or color of your choice) 4 1/4 - 4 1/2 cups powdered sugar granulated sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States