Cream Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I adapted this recipe to the old-fashioned method of proofing the yeast and kneading. I added strawberries to the batter and made into 3-part rolls. I love the texture and flavor the cream cheese imparts. The fruit addition is a subtle, fragrant touch--and it makes a nice appearance. I only used 1/4 tsp of salt, because that amount of cream cheese has plenty of salt. I also prefer a slightly sweeter bread so I added additional sugar. I might not use quite as much cream cheese next time. I agree with Holly--a good base recipe and one I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Wonderful! I used this to make cinnamon/pecan rolls. I let the dough rise a little longer in the bread machine (it needed another 40 minutes) then I formed the dough & covered it with butter, pecan pieces and sugar & cinnamon. Rolled up and cut and put in buttered pan (large deep dish pizza pan) and let rise another 40 minutes & topped with a little more butter, pecans and sugar & cinnamon. Baked at 350 for about 30 minutes. Made an icing of 2 cups powdered sugar, splash of pure vanilla, about 3 TBSP. of melted butter and a 3-4 TBSP. of milk. My house smells heavenly! Thanks for sharing your recipe (this is a keeper) !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was quite good - I am addicted to my bread maker and love finding new recipes. I used fat-free cream cheese and no one would have ever guessed! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I have to say I'm truly excited to find this recipe again. I made it when I first got my bread machine and fell in love with it. It's wonderful with blackberry jam, or just butter. I highly recommend you try it at least once. Thanks Allrecipes, I never thought I'd find this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
I just took this one out of the bread machine and , boy does this bread smell heavenly. It also rises and shapes very nicely. I have had some awfully funny shaped breads come out of my machine, but this one looks perfect. Too bad I am giving this to my neighbor for Christmas. Sigh... This one WILL be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lansie
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Excellent recipe. I warmed the milk then added the sugar and yeast and let that sit while I melted the butter (instead of margarine) and warmed the cream cheese and let the egg warm on the stove. Then I dumped the butter, cream cheese and egg on the yeast/milk mixture, added flour, then salt and let the bread machine work: White, 2 lbs, pounded down the bread a little after the 2nd rising. It smelled great when baking and rose very nice and fluffy. It's a cheese bread, so it's heavy but yummy. I think me and my bread machine are now best buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
gross
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
This was the perfect bread for my 1 year old - lots of milk, cheese and dairy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
The taste & texture reminds me of a danish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
Didn't like the crust and taste was not that much better with cream cheese. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cheese Herb Bread

See how to make fragrant cheese herb bread.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States