Cream Cheese Basil Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This recipe is awesome if you want a quick, satisfying side dish or an easy dish to serve at a party (just scale it up). I made it delicious and fairly healthy by sauteeing the squash and garlic for a few minutes in a small amount of butter, removing from heat and adding a good amount of chopped fresh basil and then adding 1-2 servings of reduced fat cream cheese before microwaving to melt the cheese. A small amount of cream cheese goes a long way and you can reduce the fat to 3-6 grams per serving with my modification. Fresh basil is essential for a "wow".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I'm sure many love this recipe, but I was not impressed. I've tried two different variations, and both of them were about as appealing as my big fat butt. If you have a garden and use your first prized yellow squash, don't use it on this or you will be severely disappointed, but that's just me~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This is the easiest squash recipe ever! And it's delicious! What more could you want? Only change I make in the recipe is to take the suggestion from another reviewer and add one can or Rotel tomatoes for spice. I have even made it and frozen it for later. (We have lots of squash in the garden.) Will continue to make often! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was very good! The only thing I do differently: I make it for one serving. I take two squash (about 6 oz) sprinkel with salt and basil, micro for about two minutes, DRAIN and stir in 1 tbsp fat free cream cheese. I eat this almost everyday as a snack in the afternoon. Excellent, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I loved this; my husband hated it. Go figure. Such an easy side dish to make. My only change would be to really stress that you have to drain the squash before adding the cream cheese -- otherwise it looks soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
There was way too much cream cheese. I made it several times and every time I used less cream cheese. I think 1/2 the amount is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I buy a lot of yellow squash in an attempt to eat healthier and it always sits unused. This recipe has changed that. I made it and ate most of it in one afternoon! I cooked the squash in a pan with spray and used 1/3 fat cream cheese and half the amount. I also used fresh basil.It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
Delicious!! I used the whole block of cream cheese, but 1/2 would have been sufficient. The whole thing was a lot creamier and bad for me though!! Very tasty - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
this was excellent, I did use fresh basil like some of the others and a little less cream cheese but it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
My kids loved it...I used fresh basil from my garden and drained some of the excess liquid off, very easy! Thank you Laurel,for a fast, delicious veggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States