Cream Cheese Basil Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Squash for squash haters! A friend gave me a huge bag of crookneck squash from her garden; although normally I wouldn't touch the stuff I didn't want to hurt her feelings, so I started looking for a recipe I might enjoy. This recipe is made for those of you who, like me, can't stand yellow squash, but only of you get the texture right. I decided to forgo the microwave and I made this in a frying pan. I started with a small chopped onion and doubled the garlic. I sautéed it all in butter until crisp-tender, then added the cheese. There is no need to drain. Like others recommended, I cut the cream cheese in half and used at least 2 TBLS fresh basil, added right at the end. I absolutely loved it! Everyone at the table did. The dish pairs especially well with grilled chicken, and is just as good the second day...if you have any left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Thanks for the great recipe. I added an extra squash and 3/4 c shredded Italian blend cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Good! A fraction of the cream cheese, though, and it would be better! Just enough to coat the veggies is all that it takes. Would also be good with other garden veggies added...bell peppers, onions.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Moffit Burr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I did not use basil but I did use dill and lemon pepper and it was awesome. I also cut the cream cheese down to four ounces instead of eight, we don't eat a lot of dairy so that was plenty for our needs. I baked it in the oven at 350 stirring every 10 minutes for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I microwaved an acorn squash which I'd pierced and wrapped in saran for about eight minutes.The sauce I made was composed of 2-3 oz. of cream cheese to which I added 3 large food processed cloves of Garlic and three or four tablespoons of Classico Pesto Sauce (green).I microwaved this for about 30 seconds and filled in the seeded halves of the squash with the mixture..A little salt and Voila! It really Was good and I don't even like squash!-well I do now....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
WOW,just made this ,don`t let it get away,it`s a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I have tried many recipes from this site but this is the first one that I feel the need to rate. It is incredible! I honestly could have sat down and ate the whole thing myself! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
So tasty! Even my toddlers ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
We are over run with yellow squash and have fried, boiled, baked, grilled, casseroled it to death. My family wanted something different and this fit the bill. No one complained that squash was on the plate again. Thank you for something new! Confession: I upped the garlic to four cloves as we are all garlic fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This was just great, I made it tonight with two different squash, patty-pan and zucchini. I did use less cream cheese about 4 oz and 5 squash. It was really really good. Do try it, I also added a bit of red pepper flakes because we use it is most everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MemaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States