Cream Cheese Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
These were pretty good when I made them last year from the website, but a friend made them last week and they were FANTASTIC! Her recipe is exactly the same EXCEPT she beat the leftover egg white until frothy, spread that froth over the top layer of crescent dough, and then mixed 1/2 cup chopped nuts with 1/4 cup sugar and sprinkled that on top. The nuts really addto this (and also help to hide the seams if your dough doesn't cover completely as some reviewers stated). I made them yesterday for a PTO meeting and got several requests for the recipe (with the nuts). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
If you like cheese danishes or even cheese cake, I think you'll love this. I had 1 package of Pillsbury French Croissants and 3/4 package of light cream cheese and figured I could adapt this recipe to the ingredients I had. It turned out great. I used an 8x8" square pan and trimmed the dough slightly to fit the pan. I used 1/2 an egg yolk and filled a half cup measuring cup to about 3/4 of the way with sugar. It was perfect. I wouldn't want the cream cheese layer to be any thicker. It took about 25 minutes to bake. They definitely tasted better once they cooled. I tried them about 2 hours after making them and they were still a little warm and the cream cheese didn't taste as good like that, so I refrigerated them overnight, and then took them out about an hour before serving. Fabulous. I can't wait to make them again so I can experiment by adding things like cherry pie filling on top of the cream cheese layer and before the top dough layer. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2001
Try adding fresh blueberries or raspberries over the top of cream cheese mixture before adding the final crescent roll. It makes it even more awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATHBUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
My Mom has been making these for a long time, and I have since been coming up with ways to reinvent. They truly are wonderful. I omit the egg yolk because I think it tastes better without it. My Number One suggestion is to wait for the bars to cool completely before cutting. You will get cleaner bars and no oozing. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This recipe is terrific... the only reason it doesn't rate 5 stars is that the cooking time needs a little adjusting - mine was still gooey, so I baked it for 15 minutes extra. Also, I added a teaspoon of lemon zest to the cream cheese filling for some extra "zing". I might try to cut down on the amount of butter next time too, but I will definately make it again (and again and again!!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sand Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Very good. I also cooked only 25 minutes since it browned quickly in my oven. I also used the unused egg white and beat until frothy and spread over the top layer of creasant rolls before sprinkling the cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
This recipe is sooooo good. I had a copy of this exact recipe years ago and lost it. I am so thankful to find it again!! Every time I made it people asked for the recipe. I can't wait to share with a whole new group of friends. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
These are wonderful!! One thing is I used the Crescent Roll sheets - much easier...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was really good cold. I might try using the egg white on the top to glaze. Also I overcooked at 35 minutes. Next time I will go maybe 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
If there were a higher rating I would give it! I did make a few changes to this though. Followed the advice of TJTENNESSEE and covered the top crescent layer w/ the leftover egg white. I also combined the 1/4C sugar, cinnamon and 1/4C chopped pecans and sprinkled over the top layer. But, the most sensational change I made was baking it in my 9x13 deep stoneware baker. It turned it into something totally delicious! Bake for an additional 10 min., the top will be slightly jiggly but it is done. The cream cheese is molten inside and will serve as a sauce for the pastry crust. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Prince George, Virginia, USA
Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States