Cream Cheese Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by missy
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
If there were a higher rating I would give it! I did make a few changes to this though. Followed the advice of TJTENNESSEE and covered the top crescent layer w/ the leftover egg white. I also combined the 1/4C sugar, cinnamon and 1/4C chopped pecans and sprinkled over the top layer. But, the most sensational change I made was baking it in my 9x13 deep stoneware baker. It turned it into something totally delicious! Bake for an additional 10 min., the top will be slightly jiggly but it is done. The cream cheese is molten inside and will serve as a sauce for the pastry crust. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Prince George, Virginia, USA
Living In: Farmville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Love it! Didn't have an egg so I used 1/4 c sour cream & a t of lemon juice. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Easy to make and wonderfully delicious!!! I took these to girls bunco night and it got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Made these and my husband told me that I had been holding out on him for this great breakfast/dessert item. I use 1 1/2 blocks of cream cheese tho to make a slightly thicker middle. Use the full 1/2 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This is a really good and easy recipe. I am the kitchen supervisor at a Christian School, and I make these for the kids every other month. The first time I made them, students came up and asked for the recipe for their moms. Would make them more, but they're quite calorie-packed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
These are delicious! A great dish to take to a pot luck if you don't want to deal with a whole cheese cake. I prefer them without the cinnamon sugar topping, but otherwise, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
My Mom has been making these for a long time, and I have since been coming up with ways to reinvent. They truly are wonderful. I omit the egg yolk because I think it tastes better without it. My Number One suggestion is to wait for the bars to cool completely before cutting. You will get cleaner bars and no oozing. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
These were pretty good when I made them last year from the website, but a friend made them last week and they were FANTASTIC! Her recipe is exactly the same EXCEPT she beat the leftover egg white until frothy, spread that froth over the top layer of crescent dough, and then mixed 1/2 cup chopped nuts with 1/4 cup sugar and sprinkled that on top. The nuts really addto this (and also help to hide the seams if your dough doesn't cover completely as some reviewers stated). I made them yesterday for a PTO meeting and got several requests for the recipe (with the nuts). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
These were delicious! They're good cold, the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
This was awesome. I made some revisions. I added 1/2tsp of almond extract in addition to the vanilla and I took another reviewers advice and put a layer of cherry pie filling on top of the cream cheese. Dusted with powdered sugar. So pretty! Next time I will increase the cream cheese by another brick because that is the best. Blueberry pie filling would be good too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States