Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This cake is easy and delicious! I followed other reviewers' advice and omitted 1/4 tsp. salt and added 1/4 tsp. baking powder. I beat the eggs and sugar together at high speed for about 10 minutes and I think that makes quite a difference. I also used very good quality vanilla to enhance the flavour. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a bundt pan but it almost overflowed--next time I'll put some of the extra batter in a small loaf pan. I cut the cake into bite sized pieces and used it for a chocolate fondue, but it would be very good with whip cream, ice cream, or many different icings. A very versatile cake! It still tasted very good after 4 days (being kept in an airtight container).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pincher Creek, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa F.
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I made this recipe into 10 cupcakes. They came out so delicious and moist...5 stars, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa F.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
I made this to use up some cream I had in the fridge. I used Splenda instead of sugar and doubled the vanilla. There was not enough batter to be using a deep bundt pan so next time I will stick to what the recipe recommends. I heated strawberry jam and drizzled it over the cake as soon as it came out of the oven....a strawberries and cream cake! Yum. I imagine this would be good served with warm brandy custard aswell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PULCHRA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I used this recipe for my Son's 2nd birthday. I used an Octopus shaped cakepan, and this was the perfect recipe as it was not to heavy, and staid together wonderfully. It had a really nice flavor, and was a nice color to decorate colorfully for a child's birthday. I live in Germany, and I can not buy Vanilla extract so I used some Bourbon Vanilla Sugar, plus some Butter Vanilla Aroma and did not notice a difference. It was so tasty and cool looking, I made 3 more over the weekend for other family gatherings and it was a huge hit! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Maybe the best white cake I've had the day I made it and maybe the next day. After that it just lost something. Wonderful cake if you plan on eating it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This cake is so yummy! I changed nothing from the recipe aside from doubling it. Very moist...simple, allowing for a variety of decorating options. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollfayce

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This cake may have been great right after it was made, but I was using it for the next day for a birthday cake and it was really dry and coarse. I won't make it again. I'm not sure if it was because it had gotten stale or what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I only used a pinch of salt and 1/2 tsp more vanilla. Came out great, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
YUMMM!!! This was a really delicious recipe. It was really moist and fabulous! I am a big fan of making simple white cakes and this one is definately a keeper! It is really simple and by the time I set it on the table, my guests devoured it in about 10 minutes. I then had to make a second one and decided to make this one a layered cake so I ended up making two of them and layered them with a mild flavored mocha frosting. DELISHHH! I topped it with some coconut and was ready to go. It is perfect for a party or even just to fulfil a sweet craving. I loved it and so did everyone that tried it!. **I added about a TBSP and a half of milk to it and I think it really helped keep it moist and a bit less dense. **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Love

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I made it again this time I added chocolate and I made a delicious chocolate cake with chocolate frosting!! yuuuuuuuuuuummmmmmmmmmmmmyyyyyyyyy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariana

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States