Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Great taste and very fluffy. I was searching for a simple white/vanilla type of cake and came across this recipe. I added a little more baking powder, as suggested by another reviewer. I made them into cupcakes and baked for approx 18-20 min. until they turned light golden brown on top. Everyone at home loved them. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Iris VelillaCastro

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this for my grandmother's b-day when she requested a white cake. I followed the recipe and it came out very thin-it did taste good though! I might not have let my eggs set out long enough or something like that. Next time I will add more baking powder and less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This cake is wonderful! I didn't have heavy whipping cream on hand so I just used Table Cream (18% MF).. The taste is lovely and they're very light and airy.. Would've liked them to have been more moist but I did use the recipe for cupcakes.. They only took 19 minutes in the oven! Will keep making!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This recipe is wonderful. I followed it as printed and it made a double layer 6" round cake -- perfect for an individual birthday cake. The cake is moist and very light. This is a recipe I will be making again and again and again. Thank you for posting it Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkadelphia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I saw this recipe and immediately wanted to make it. It turned out great! I love how it is such a simple recipe. There are only 7 ingredients and it is supper easy to make. Delicious and a must keep recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This recipe comes together pretty quickly and easily for a scratch cake. I've used it twice for cupcakes. It makes 14 standard sized cupcakes. I used my whisk attachment on the stand mixer to whip up the eggs for a few minutes to get them nice and thick. Texture of cupcakes were nice, flavor was good and not too sweet. They domed nicely. All in all, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
What a delicious cake!! I made this for my dad's birthday, and it was a hit with our entire family. I doubled the recipe to make a two-layer 9" cake, and half of the cake fed all 10 of us. I beat the eggs for 10 minutes as other reviewers had suggested, and I think that is extremely important in making this cake light and fluffy. Otherwise, I can see how it would be very dense. My whole family commented on how light and moist it was. I served this with the Rich Chocolate Frosting from this site, and couldn't have asked for a better cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This recipe was awesome. I made these for a wedding that I was making cupcakes for. I made an initial test batch and found them to have a slightly metallic after taste that I thought came from the baking powder. The next batch I made I decreased the baking powder to 1 1/2 t. and they were perfect! The texture was like velvet, the cake was a nice denseness and each recipe made 15 perfect cupcakes. I needed to make 12 batches of this recipe, but it goes together very quickly. The bride loved them. I froze a few that I had left over and they were great when I pulled them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
i put a little chocolate powter in it and it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These were very tasty. I made 1 plain cupcake and 1 marble cupcake using "Black Magic Cake" and this recipe. Compared to "Simple White Cake" this recipe is just as good but not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States