Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I made this for my grandmother's b-day when she requested a white cake. I followed the recipe and it came out very thin-it did taste good though! I might not have let my eggs set out long enough or something like that. Next time I will add more baking powder and less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Photo by Natalie
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This cake is wonderful! I didn't have heavy whipping cream on hand so I just used Table Cream (18% MF).. The taste is lovely and they're very light and airy.. Would've liked them to have been more moist but I did use the recipe for cupcakes.. They only took 19 minutes in the oven! Will keep making!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This recipe is wonderful. I followed it as printed and it made a double layer 6" round cake -- perfect for an individual birthday cake. The cake is moist and very light. This is a recipe I will be making again and again and again. Thank you for posting it Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkadelphia, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I saw this recipe and immediately wanted to make it. It turned out great! I love how it is such a simple recipe. There are only 7 ingredients and it is supper easy to make. Delicious and a must keep recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This recipe comes together pretty quickly and easily for a scratch cake. I've used it twice for cupcakes. It makes 14 standard sized cupcakes. I used my whisk attachment on the stand mixer to whip up the eggs for a few minutes to get them nice and thick. Texture of cupcakes were nice, flavor was good and not too sweet. They domed nicely. All in all, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
What a delicious cake!! I made this for my dad's birthday, and it was a hit with our entire family. I doubled the recipe to make a two-layer 9" cake, and half of the cake fed all 10 of us. I beat the eggs for 10 minutes as other reviewers had suggested, and I think that is extremely important in making this cake light and fluffy. Otherwise, I can see how it would be very dense. My whole family commented on how light and moist it was. I served this with the Rich Chocolate Frosting from this site, and couldn't have asked for a better cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lchoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This recipe was awesome. I made these for a wedding that I was making cupcakes for. I made an initial test batch and found them to have a slightly metallic after taste that I thought came from the baking powder. The next batch I made I decreased the baking powder to 1 1/2 t. and they were perfect! The texture was like velvet, the cake was a nice denseness and each recipe made 15 perfect cupcakes. I needed to make 12 batches of this recipe, but it goes together very quickly. The bride loved them. I froze a few that I had left over and they were great when I pulled them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
i put a little chocolate powter in it and it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These were very tasty. I made 1 plain cupcake and 1 marble cupcake using "Black Magic Cake" and this recipe. Compared to "Simple White Cake" this recipe is just as good but not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Excellent - used 1 c. sugar, cake flour instead of all-purpose flour, and only a pinch of salt - all as another reviewer suggested. Plus, added a touch of almond flavoring. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States