Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Soft and light like a sponge or chiffon cake, with mild flavour. I like it very much :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hui Min

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that would turn out smooth rounded-top cupcakes. This was the recipe to do that. Unfortunately, it did not win in taste tests. I increased the vanilla by 1/2 tsp. and decreased the salt by 1/4 tsp. It was still too salty (thought I had used salted butter until I remembered this recipe doesn't call for butter). If I make this again I would drop the salt some more and increase the sugar to 1 Cup. They looked lovely and frosted nice and smooth but they didn't taste all that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
A nice white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I was really looking forward to making and eating this cake, but I was disappointed by the results. I made the recipe into a dozen cupcakes which did rise perfectly, but the taste was lacking. I followed other reviews and added more vanilla (about a tsp more), and more baking soda (1/4 tsp more). The cake was very dense (which I was ok with), but it didn't really taste like anything- I could barely taste the vanilla at all. It's just a very bland, boring cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a.granados

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I was looking for something lighter, the description alludes to it being light and "delicate" but no it is more like a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
just made it. add a little extra Baking powder as other suggested and a little extra vanilla 1tsp more. If the batter is any indication of the flavor, it well be fantastic. I can't stop eating it. mine is in the oven now, will let you know how it turns out. ***so I tried it, good taste, but very heavy and dense. I'll try it again to see if I can make it lighter. It is definitely more like a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I made this today, i basically doubled the recipe, adding the additional 1/4 tsp of baking powder as in the other reviews. (which came out to be 1/2tsp more since it was doubled), 2 Tbsp vanilla extract, and a 16oz container of sour cream (2c), since i didn't have any heavy cream. this made 30 regular cupcakes. they rose beautifully,were tender, and not overly sweet at all. they were very plain/bland. so if you're loooking for tender, plain cake/cupcakes...this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodie S.
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Fantastic cake ... I did cut back the salt alot. I doubled the recipe and it made two round 9 inch cakes perfectly. The eggs should be beaten for at least 10mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Just made it a few hours ago and have to say it is the best cake I've ever made! And it's so easy. Everyone mentioned about the denseness of the cake and how they had to increase b.p. but I just sifted the flour before measuring and the cake and it turned out moist and flavorful (had to increase vanilla extract). Next time I will try beating the eggs longer ~ 10mins., like some suggested, just to see if it makes a huge difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This cake is very tasty and nice and moist. My only real complaint is how crumbly it is. I doubled the recipe and cut each cake in half... Or attempted to at least! I was able to piece it back together with icing, and since I'm covering it with fondant it won't look too horrible (I hope), but I have to recommend against using this to make a multi-layered cake. Unless you like spongy puzzles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States