Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I just made this cake today and it was really, really good! I read all 83 reviews before making it and decided to make the following changes because these alterations appeared in many of the reviews... I used 1 cup sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla, 2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt. I beat the eggs for 10 minutes before adding the sugar and vanilla, a little at a time. Came out moist and not dense. Enjoyed by all. Thanks for the great recipe (and for all the people who took the time to write up a review)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
The cake is DELICIOUS! I used the precise measurements given, except I added an extra 1/2 t. baking powder and 1 t. vanilla, as others had suggested. I can discern the salt, but I like it, and it helps balance the sweetness. I generally prefer a less sweet cake and will probably cut 1/4 c. of sugar next time. But I want to stress - the cake is WONDERFUL! As for the texture, mine came out light and fluffy and I did a couple of things to achieve this. First, let me say that I'm trying to always bake with some whole wheat flour, no matter the recipe, so dense texture is a particular concern when making cake. I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat. I did two things which I think contributed to the lightness of texture. First, I measured the flours, baking soda and salt in a bowl together, then I triple sifted them. Remember that old trick? It really works! I don't have a sifter, but I used my mesh strainer and it worked perfectly. The second thing I did was to quickly and lightly fold in the cream and flour by hand, with a spatula, after whipping the eggs, sugar and vanilla together. As others suggested, I beat the eggs in my stand mixer at medium speed for a full ten minutes. Then, I added 1/3 flour mix, folded gently but thoroughly, 1/2 cream, folded quickly and thoroughly and repeated. Also, I set my oven for 350 but it runs hot, so I only baked the cake for 25 min. All these things gave it a great rise! I will frost with salted caramel frosting. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzyhomemaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I thought it was a great recipe. The cake turned out really moist. I added a nice creamy lemon icing and people asked for seconds! I definitely will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
The recipe worked really well. I followed others' recommendations by cutting down the salt and adding more vanilla and baking powder. This is not a very sweet cake so it provides a lot of opportunities to sue fun and perhaps a little bit sweeter icings in combination with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I probably won't make this cake again. I've made LOTS of cakes, but I had never tried a cake with heavy cream instead of butter. The texture was perfect, but it really didn't have much flavor. If I do make this again, I'll put chocolate icing instead of buttercream on it and add more flavorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I live in a high altitude city, Denver, so trying new recipes can be tricky. This cake was a great success. I did make some changes - I used 1 1/2 tsp. of baking powder and 1/2 tsp. of baking soda. I also used cake flour (1 1/2 cups), doubled the vanilla and added 2 tbs. of sour cream. I actually doubled the recipe (3 9" layers) and baked it at 350 degrees for 18 minutes. If you don't live in a high altitude, I'm not sure if you should follow my changes - but if you do live in high altitude, you know how a good cake recipe can go wrong, just because. This is the best white/yellow cake (it's not quite yellow b/c there's no butter and not many eggs) I've ever made. It came out moist, tender, fluffy, delicate and flavorful. I am a seasoned baker and not using butter or oil was concerning to me (which is why I added the sour cream), but I think the heavy cream makes for a wonderful texture (along with the cake flour). This recipe is a great find!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Alling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
The first time I made this I made it as written and it was wonderful!!! The second time I made it I added cinnamon and made cupcakes with cream cheese frosting and they were AMAZING!!! tasted just like a cinnamon roll. I will be making the cinnamon version again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Cake was very easy to make and cooked up very well but was dry and had a sort of salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the Tower Chef
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I doubled this recipe for a layer cake, added 2 ground vanilla beans (because my hubby *loves* vanilla) and increased the baking powder by 1/2 tsp (1/4 for single recipe) per other reviewers suggestion. It came out amazing! It would be just fine without the added vanilla bean as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This is good, but not as fluffy as white cake. This is more like a pound cake, but you have to be very very generous with your flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States