Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I just tried to make this recipe, followed the directions and I didnt rise, what did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elexsia
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I just tried this recipe last night and it came out goooood!!! Next time I would just reduce the amount of salt a little bit. But other than that (like my hubby says) "this is a repeat"!!! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elexsia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonao, Monseñor Nouel, Dominican Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Excellent basic cake recipe. I'll never use a box mix again. Made mini cupcakes with it and the family nearly devoured all the cupcakes in one day. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I can't quite put my finger on it, but there was a taste I just didnt like. Maybe it has to much baking powder ? I even brought a piece in to my friend at work and she said same thing .I do like the simple ingredients it had,and the fact it only makes a small cake. But I wont make again. sorry ,it just was not for me .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I was very disappointed. It almost tasted like the flour didnt get done. Directions were a bit confaluted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
OH MY GOD!!!! This is the best cake recipe ever so so moist and flavor full. Definitly going to make it again soon. I made it exactly as the recipe says. Now i am planning on tweeking it, adding different flavor, like mocha and cinnamon. Cannot wait to eat more of it and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This cake was only ok. I switched out the a/p flour with cake flour and still remained a dense cake. Not one I would make again only due to the dense factor. It was easy to prepare tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Initially, I didn't like this cake but after it sat for a day, I found it to be good. If I make it again I would add more vanilla and be sure to not bake too long. I baked it on the longer side of the instructions and wish I had taken it out earlier so it would be moister. The cake has a big crumb and is a pleasant dessert. I frosted with some rich chocolate frosting. Thank you Carol for the recipe-- a great way to use leftover cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I just made this cake today and it was really, really good! I read all 83 reviews before making it and decided to make the following changes because these alterations appeared in many of the reviews... I used 1 cup sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla, 2 1/4 teaspoons baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon salt. I beat the eggs for 10 minutes before adding the sugar and vanilla, a little at a time. Came out moist and not dense. Enjoyed by all. Thanks for the great recipe (and for all the people who took the time to write up a review)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
The cake is DELICIOUS! I used the precise measurements given, except I added an extra 1/2 t. baking powder and 1 t. vanilla, as others had suggested. I can discern the salt, but I like it, and it helps balance the sweetness. I generally prefer a less sweet cake and will probably cut 1/4 c. of sugar next time. But I want to stress - the cake is WONDERFUL! As for the texture, mine came out light and fluffy and I did a couple of things to achieve this. First, let me say that I'm trying to always bake with some whole wheat flour, no matter the recipe, so dense texture is a particular concern when making cake. I used 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat. I did two things which I think contributed to the lightness of texture. First, I measured the flours, baking soda and salt in a bowl together, then I triple sifted them. Remember that old trick? It really works! I don't have a sifter, but I used my mesh strainer and it worked perfectly. The second thing I did was to quickly and lightly fold in the cream and flour by hand, with a spatula, after whipping the eggs, sugar and vanilla together. As others suggested, I beat the eggs in my stand mixer at medium speed for a full ten minutes. Then, I added 1/3 flour mix, folded gently but thoroughly, 1/2 cream, folded quickly and thoroughly and repeated. Also, I set my oven for 350 but it runs hot, so I only baked the cake for 25 min. All these things gave it a great rise! I will frost with salted caramel frosting. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzyhomemaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States