Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I too, was looking for something to do with leftover cream and decided on this one...and glad I did! I added an extra dash more of vanilla just for good measure (based on the reviews). I made an almond prailine glaze which went over well. I didn't know what to expect and the best description I can say is that it's like a pound cake, which I love! Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This was an easy cake to bake. Came out pretty soft but a bit salty. A bit of a dissapointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I guess this is the day that I am getting around to rating alot of the recipes that I forgot. I made this back a few months ago and it was great! I did not change a thing and it came out perfect. Not heavy or dense in any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
I used this as the base in an ice cream cake (baked in a springform, topped w/ 1/2 gallon vanilla mixed with 1/2 package coconut and 1 pkg coconut pudding that had been combined with 1 1/2 c. milk - then iced). It was fairly dry, but that worked well as the ice cream melted. It froze well. I'll use it for this again, but probably not as a stand alone cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Ward Langston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This cake is very good. It's simple and makes just the right size cake for a small family. I beat the eggs until peaks formed and I added a little more baking powder. It rose well and was very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This recipe was just OK. I don't know that I'll try it again, but if I do I will definitely add a glaze. It just needs something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This recipe was fantastic. After reading the other reviews that said the cake was dense, I added a little extra baking powder. It turned out, light, airy, and full of creamy vanilla flavor. A definite make-again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
This cake was awful! Flat and heavy. I definately won't make this again! I was trying to find recipes to use up the "leftover" heavy cream... ick. I'll use the cake for trifle...now where's a recipe for that.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I was looking for a quick and easy recipe for some left over heavy cream. This was great ! Easy and yummy. Great texture, not to heavy like a lot of cream cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
This cake is wonderful! So much so, that I made it for my son's 2nd birthday. Everyone loved it! This is the third time I have baked it & plan to use it instead of box mixes in the future it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States