Cream Cake Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! Easy and delicious! I garnished with strawberries instead of raspberries...perfect summer picnic dessert. It was gone so quickly and everyone loved it. Some tips: After cooling on a wire rack and cutting in half, as directed, I used a hard plastic placemat to slide under the top half and remove it. After frosting and reassembling, I noticed the top layer was little uneven and scratched from cooling on the wire rack, so I dusted the top with powdered sugar...beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
this cake and filling tastes JUST LIKE a twinkie! Its amazing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This cake tastes greasy, it's the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drmurphy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This was very good. I added raspberries to the middle also and I think that kept them from falling off the cake! Family enjoyed it..will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I have been making this cake for several years. We have always called it Twinkie Cake. I also make it with chocolate cake mix, calling it Susie Q Cake. Cherry chip cake mix makes another wonderful cake (but no name). Very versatile recipe! The one tip I do have is to make sure you whisk the milk into the flour slowly, keeping it smooth. Then keep it stirred and cooking on med/low while thickening, as to not cause lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
YUM - I made it exactly as written and it was so good. Not too sweet just right. No need to change a thing! Thanks Peggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Fantastic recipe! The flavor is perfect, not too sweet but just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Love this recipe. I also make the filling with 1 cup of butter if I don't have the palm oil shortening (without trans fats). I must admit I cheat once in awhile and slice plain donuts horizontally, spread the filling between top and bottom, and put the fruit in the donut hole. A very light dusting of confectioner's sugar and a small paper doilie beneath make them fancy enough for a ladies luncheon. If store-bought donuts are too much cheating for you and you have the donut-maker baking pans, you can use the cake portion of the recipe to bake your own donuts while preparing the filling. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris.c
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I think this could quite possibly be the best cake I have ever tasted!! It tastes exactly like a twinkie and is very soft and moist. I made mine into cupcakes (less baking time, around 20 mins or so). I then used a cupcake plunger to remove the middle of the cupcakes, put the filling into a pipping bag and filled the cupcakes with the filling. AMAZING! I made them for a new years party and everyone who tried them LOVED them! I bet the cupcakes would also be great with a not-too-sweet chocolate frosting on top! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris.c

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this for a family get-together over Labor Day. It was THE hit of the party! I had about 10 people beg me repeatedly for the recipe and said this cake was awesome! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!!!! By the way, I made the cake just as written....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgweezie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States