Cream Cake Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! Easy and delicious! I garnished with strawberries instead of raspberries...perfect summer picnic dessert. It was gone so quickly and everyone loved it. Some tips: After cooling on a wire rack and cutting in half, as directed, I used a hard plastic placemat to slide under the top half and remove it. After frosting and reassembling, I noticed the top layer was little uneven and scratched from cooling on the wire rack, so I dusted the top with powdered sugar...beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
this cake and filling tastes JUST LIKE a twinkie! Its amazing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
This cake tastes greasy, it's the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drmurphy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This was very good. I added raspberries to the middle also and I think that kept them from falling off the cake! Family enjoyed it..will keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I have been making this cake for several years. We have always called it Twinkie Cake. I also make it with chocolate cake mix, calling it Susie Q Cake. Cherry chip cake mix makes another wonderful cake (but no name). Very versatile recipe! The one tip I do have is to make sure you whisk the milk into the flour slowly, keeping it smooth. Then keep it stirred and cooking on med/low while thickening, as to not cause lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
YUM - I made it exactly as written and it was so good. Not too sweet just right. No need to change a thing! Thanks Peggy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Fantastic recipe! The flavor is perfect, not too sweet but just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Love this recipe. I also make the filling with 1 cup of butter if I don't have the palm oil shortening (without trans fats). I must admit I cheat once in awhile and slice plain donuts horizontally, spread the filling between top and bottom, and put the fruit in the donut hole. A very light dusting of confectioner's sugar and a small paper doilie beneath make them fancy enough for a ladies luncheon. If store-bought donuts are too much cheating for you and you have the donut-maker baking pans, you can use the cake portion of the recipe to bake your own donuts while preparing the filling. ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kris.c
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I think this could quite possibly be the best cake I have ever tasted!! It tastes exactly like a twinkie and is very soft and moist. I made mine into cupcakes (less baking time, around 20 mins or so). I then used a cupcake plunger to remove the middle of the cupcakes, put the filling into a pipping bag and filled the cupcakes with the filling. AMAZING! I made them for a new years party and everyone who tried them LOVED them! I bet the cupcakes would also be great with a not-too-sweet chocolate frosting on top! yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris.c

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I made this for a family get-together over Labor Day. It was THE hit of the party! I had about 10 people beg me repeatedly for the recipe and said this cake was awesome! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!!!! By the way, I made the cake just as written....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cgweezie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States