Cream-Braised Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
My kids liked it, even the one who doesn't care for veggies, but I thought the sprouts were way overcooked. I made per the recipe and added garlic to the butter. I tasted prior to adding the cream and the additional cook time and thought it tasted fantastic! Next time I'll stop there, or just add a couple tablespoons of cream and give it a quick simmer and serve. 35 minutes of simmering turned the sprouts to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gallipolis, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made these for Christmas dinner and they were DEVINE!! I ate too many, and felt kind of sick...oh well! I also kind of doctored them up with onion and garlic...and proceeded as directed. DH doesn't really care for them and he said "these are good". Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was really good although most times I cook these using a less fat method. My brother had never eaten Brussels sprouts before and now this is his favorite way to cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
didn't add the lemon but tasted awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazmine George

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
This was excellent! I added some onions to the butter mixture and before I put in the milk I threw in some mushrooms then simmered. Before serving I threw on some parmesan cheese and... WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I cant eat enough! Even the "nay sayers" to brussel sprouts enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Have made this many times....such a yummy favorite. I have found a bit less butter still works. While fan frying I add diced onion and garlic, and just before serving I add some crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
The recipe was good, but I'd change a few things. If you put the lemon-juice in first thing, that brownish discoloration will never happen to the sprouts. Also, I'm hooked on flavor and nutrition, which is harder to do. I used half and half to replace the heavy cream and only 3/4 a cup. The remainder can be replaced with chicken or turkey broth. I also substitue my butter for coconut oil (no animal bi-products and less fat/calories). Then, it needed a bit more flavor, so I added a tablespoon of minced garlic and two tablespoons of lemon-pepper (lemon zest and black pepper combined) and it came out better then when I had it in a 4 star restaraunt. From now on, I'm eating this at home! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAVaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I thought it sounded too basic as written, so I borrowed some ideas from other Brussels sprouts recipes on this site. 1) I sauteed onions and minced garlic in the melted butter, then added the sprouts. 2) Left out the salt, but added two good dashes of red pepper and oregano, respectively. 3) Partially through the cooking, I also added 2 TBSP of pine nuts and bacon pieces. Altogether, this modified recipe was absolutely wonderful, with a complex buttery and nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I doubled this recipe, halved the sprouts, sauteed an onion and some garlic, then proceeded to make the recipe as instructed. It came out delicious! My household already loves brussel sprouts (kids included), so I was just looking for a variant way to make them. I was a bit leery about making them as wasn't sure about the cream and sprout combo. I was delightfully surprised. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States