Cream-Braised Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Have made this many times....such a yummy favorite. I have found a bit less butter still works. While fan frying I add diced onion and garlic, and just before serving I add some crumbled bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
The recipe was good, but I'd change a few things. If you put the lemon-juice in first thing, that brownish discoloration will never happen to the sprouts. Also, I'm hooked on flavor and nutrition, which is harder to do. I used half and half to replace the heavy cream and only 3/4 a cup. The remainder can be replaced with chicken or turkey broth. I also substitue my butter for coconut oil (no animal bi-products and less fat/calories). Then, it needed a bit more flavor, so I added a tablespoon of minced garlic and two tablespoons of lemon-pepper (lemon zest and black pepper combined) and it came out better then when I had it in a 4 star restaraunt. From now on, I'm eating this at home! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLAVaholic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I thought it sounded too basic as written, so I borrowed some ideas from other Brussels sprouts recipes on this site. 1) I sauteed onions and minced garlic in the melted butter, then added the sprouts. 2) Left out the salt, but added two good dashes of red pepper and oregano, respectively. 3) Partially through the cooking, I also added 2 TBSP of pine nuts and bacon pieces. Altogether, this modified recipe was absolutely wonderful, with a complex buttery and nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I doubled this recipe, halved the sprouts, sauteed an onion and some garlic, then proceeded to make the recipe as instructed. It came out delicious! My household already loves brussel sprouts (kids included), so I was just looking for a variant way to make them. I was a bit leery about making them as wasn't sure about the cream and sprout combo. I was delightfully surprised. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Great flavor! I added a bacon element, cooked bacon first and removed from the pan to crumble. Then I added the butter with bacon drip and followed recipe plus bacon crumbles. It was awesome both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These were really good. I made them with frozen brussel sprouts. Next time I wont let the heavy whipping cream reduce so much, or put more. I really liked the sauce. I added pepper when I put them in the butter & with the salt. Where there's lemon, there needs to be pepper. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Nice way to make brussels sprouts, the kids loved them. I did add canadian bacon sauteed them with some onions first and the added the sprouts. Plus some spanish paprika and parmesan chesse at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was as good as your claim its a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I made this exactly as specified - very disappointing. We love sprouts but this one was definitely not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Tried this yesterday for Christmas dinner and everybody loved it, even the kids! Emboldened by the reviewers who enjoyed it as leftovers, I made it the morning, then reheated just before serving. Delightful! I added lemon zest in addition to the lemon juice. The dish went really well with garlic prime rib and baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States