Crazy Good Stuffing and Baked Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this last night and followed the recipe to the letter. It was very tasty and well-received by my family. The only thing I would do next time is to use only ONE can of soup, dividing it in half and adjusting the amount of milk accordingly. The sauce was extremely rich and a bit too "gloppy" for my taste. Otherwise though it was good and I will be making it again. Thank you Pam, and Pam's dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I've made this recipe a couple times for differnt people and everyone always loves it! It's also very forgiving, I always make substitutions.(because I'm too lazy to go to the store) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
My husband gives it 5 stars! Great comfort food and it is certainly a heavy meal, so be prepared to relax afterward! I used fileted chops, shallots instead of onions, and port instead of sherry since it's what I had on hand. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Mixing 2 cans of mushroom soup in this recipe was too much salt for me. It made the stove top box of cornbread dressing (which is pretty salty to begin with)a gooey mess and the flavor of the cornbread all but disappeared. I would use one can of mushroom soup split between the dressing and the sauce and make up the liquid difference in milk or make up the cornbread recipe as written on the package, make the delicious mushroom/sherry sauce and pour over the chops and spoon the cornbread mix on the top. Cover and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I found that this recipe left the pork chops nice and tender when baked for 20-25 minutes at 375. I did brown them first in a bit of olive oil instead of butter. Then just melted butter to add to the stuffing later. Please, be sure to season the chops first...even if it's only with salt and pepper. The stuffing I found to be just ok. I also used a bit of butter to saute the mushrooms and onions. It is a great base though. Depending on what brand of stuffing mix you used (I used Pepperidge Farms Herb stuffing mix in the bag) you may need to add some seasonings to the stuffing mixture as well. I added dried thyme, salt, pepper and parsley. I think the two cans of soup and all the milk is a bit much. Next time I would sub out some of the milk for some chicken broth or white wine and split one can of cream of mushroom between both the stuffing and the topping. I used a large ice cream scoop to mound up the stuffing on top of the chops. I then added the soup topping and sprinkled them with some paprika for color. My family enjoyed this, but like I said, it needed some tweaking for our liking...so I'm only giving it a 3. Good base recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Pretty darned good! I did play with this some, but the recipe and its directions are fine too, just as is. This is an ideal dish for you to put your own spin on and I'll bet the same cook probably wouldn't make this the same way twice! In my case, I did NOT brown the chops first. These boneless chops are so lean I didn't want to risk overcooking them. I put them in a foil-lined plan for easy clean up that I had oiled lightly with olive oil. I seasoned the chops with salt, pepper and poultry seasoning (a good place for your own spin here in terms of seasonings!) To the stuffing itself I added chopped celery cuz Hubs likes it. I found it kind of drab looking and seriously in need of some color, easily rectified with a little chopped parsley. To the sauce I added a good glug of white wine (Chardonnay) as well as a couple of shakes of Worcestershire sauce. Perfectly baked, juicy and tender, after 30 minutes and, like meatloaf, good comfort food. Bonus for calling for boneless chops – good, clean eatin’ with no bone to have to work around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This is an Amazing recipe!!! We loved it!! Definitely will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Pretty good-nice flavor added to packaged stuffing. My husband liked it, which is always important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
We absolutely love this recipe. It's moist, the chops are tender. I have even served it for company. And it's so easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
It was a dud at my house. It turned out with juicy chops and the stuffing was okay in flavor but it was a bit boring for my adventurous eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Pork Chops I

See how to make quick-and-easy baked pork chops.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States