Crazy Crust Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I did what many reviewers did and only used 1 egg. My boyfriend observed that the result was more like a lasagna noodle than a pizza crust. After he made that observation, I had to agree. Part of this may have something to do with the fact that I made it in a toaster oven (I don't have a regular oven), but I can't say that for sure. It was a fine recipe, though, and I'll probably make it again. Like another reviewer said, the "dough" was really runny, but it firmed up just fine when cooking. I only had one small rectangular tray (for the toaster oven); so I tried pouring half the batter in at a time to make two pizzas. I miscalculated, and the first has a paper-thin crust while the other had a crust about 1/4" (1/2 cm) thick. So, please note that you will not be getting a very thick crust regardless of what size pizza you are making. (Also, please note that I have no measuring instruments in my house for cup, tablespoon, teaspoon; so I was eyeballing all the ingredients.) Regardless of the potential disappointments, my boyfriend and I were both happy with the outcome for a homemade pizza, and I will likely make this again for us if his diet permits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Works fine for when you are needing fast but I have found others I like much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Most times I really wonder why people attempts at a recipe failed, but this time I completely understand I made the batter twice. The first time, the batter was way too sticky and I added 1/4 cup of flour and only one egg because of the "egginess" everyone talked about, I also added garlic powder and used a 9 in cake pan ( used margarine to grease pan). Second time I added 1/2 c of flour instead of 1/4 to the original 1 c and still only one egg, still too sticky. the second time i used a cookie sheet checked the bottom and it stuck to the bottom after greasing with margarine (almost ruined it) so i transferred the semi baked pizza dough to another cookie sheet this time greased with shortening and finished baking. overall will not use this recipe again and will try a yeast version instead. also flavor was not evident in the dough and the texture of the bread was a couple notches above cardboard although it did rise a bit but center was not affected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter, but for me the 20 minute initial cooking time was too much. By the time I added the sauce and cheese, and put it back in for 10 minutes, my crust was burned. I will use this recipe again with 10 minutes and 10 minutes. The rest of the pizza NIC the crust was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraSem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This is my go to crust. We love it here. I have made a couple of changes though. We like a thicker crust so I always double the recipe when I make it. I also use italian seasoning instead of oregano and pre-bake the crust for about 10 before I add the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Will not be making this again. Less a crust and more like a crepe. Omitted one of the eggs as suggested by others and baked it 10 minutes first. Very thin; do not use a large pan! Bland and floppy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
My son who is a mildly picky eater told me this was the best homemade pizza crust he ever tried and wanted me to make it at least once a week! It was nice to have a pizza crust similar to a bread.. more eye filling. Delicious. ( I added fresh Rosemary to add an edge.) It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesykaRachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
so simple, yet so tasty! I added just a bit of garlic powder which I think made it even better. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Union City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I made this recipe as written and thought it was pretty good. I may make again, but not before I compare it to some others on allrecipes.com. Incase there are people with allergies making this crust, I made it lactose (almond milk) and gluten-free (King Arthur AP mix) and thought it was very comparable to Pizza Hut's thin crust. Making mine lactose and GF free I did cook it longer than the recipe said. Update: Still one of the best crusts for a gf/vegan. I did flax seed slurry instead of eggs the second time I made it to make it vegan and it was really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxsquat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
this crust was delicious! I love how fast and easy it was. I did add one 1/2 cup of flour as well as 1 tsp baking powder and left out one egg as per suggested in the reviews. It was perfect! Even after I had forgotten to bake the crust a little before adding the toppings. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States