Crazy Crust Pizza Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Admittedly, I'm not the greatest cook in the world, but this was really bad. I followed the hints given by others - 1 egg and about 1.5 cups of flour. It ended up being a big glob in the middle of the pan until I tried to pat it down. Then it was a gooey mess. It never did spread out in the pan so I ended up with something like really thick pizza crust that remained sort of gummy tasting after about 30-35 minutes of cooking. I'm actually laughing at this whole situation, figuring it must be something I did since so many others had good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BS
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I halved the recipe. I poured the dough into / baked the pizza in a pan for a toaster oven lined with foil for 15 minutes. (Don't be alarmed...looks more like batter than dough.) I then pulled it out and pressed the dough down with the back of a spoon (it puffed / bubbled up). After flattening the pizza, I spooned out pasta sauce and topped with shredded cheese, olives, and sliced turkey and returned to the oven for 10 more minutes. The pizza was good and satisfied my craving for pizza. The dough was a good vessel for the pizza toppings. For next time, I need to make sure I oil the foil liberally because the pizza was sticking. But overall, good dough that served its purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
My family loved it and will make again. used 1 1/2 cups of flour and only 1 egg, And at the end of baking, broiled it for 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I had to double the flour. I also added garlic salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
this recipe was fantastic. I needed to make individual pizzas on a time limit and couldn't wait for a crust to rise. I did the recommended changes and it turned out fantastic. The herbs were a good change to a regular crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I did what many reviewers did and only used 1 egg. My boyfriend observed that the result was more like a lasagna noodle than a pizza crust. After he made that observation, I had to agree. Part of this may have something to do with the fact that I made it in a toaster oven (I don't have a regular oven), but I can't say that for sure. It was a fine recipe, though, and I'll probably make it again. Like another reviewer said, the "dough" was really runny, but it firmed up just fine when cooking. I only had one small rectangular tray (for the toaster oven); so I tried pouring half the batter in at a time to make two pizzas. I miscalculated, and the first has a paper-thin crust while the other had a crust about 1/4" (1/2 cm) thick. So, please note that you will not be getting a very thick crust regardless of what size pizza you are making. (Also, please note that I have no measuring instruments in my house for cup, tablespoon, teaspoon; so I was eyeballing all the ingredients.) Regardless of the potential disappointments, my boyfriend and I were both happy with the outcome for a homemade pizza, and I will likely make this again for us if his diet permits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Works fine for when you are needing fast but I have found others I like much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Most times I really wonder why people attempts at a recipe failed, but this time I completely understand I made the batter twice. The first time, the batter was way too sticky and I added 1/4 cup of flour and only one egg because of the "egginess" everyone talked about, I also added garlic powder and used a 9 in cake pan ( used margarine to grease pan). Second time I added 1/2 c of flour instead of 1/4 to the original 1 c and still only one egg, still too sticky. the second time i used a cookie sheet checked the bottom and it stuck to the bottom after greasing with margarine (almost ruined it) so i transferred the semi baked pizza dough to another cookie sheet this time greased with shortening and finished baking. overall will not use this recipe again and will try a yeast version instead. also flavor was not evident in the dough and the texture of the bread was a couple notches above cardboard although it did rise a bit but center was not affected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe to the letter, but for me the 20 minute initial cooking time was too much. By the time I added the sauce and cheese, and put it back in for 10 minutes, my crust was burned. I will use this recipe again with 10 minutes and 10 minutes. The rest of the pizza NIC the crust was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraSem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
This is my go to crust. We love it here. I have made a couple of changes though. We like a thicker crust so I always double the recipe when I make it. I also use italian seasoning instead of oregano and pre-bake the crust for about 10 before I add the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States