Crazy Crust Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
My husband loved it! Very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
I love this pie! It tastes like a mix of pancake and cinnamon apple..ness... This has been my sister's (she's 9) favorite pie since I made it! Easy and quick, so worth a try anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
really good, different type of apple pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
The filling was all right, but the crust tasted awful. It was not crumbly nor tasted like biscuit. A huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I really didn't like this and my husband and kids also thought it was gross. I think it taste really 'eggy' even though there is only one egg in it. If anything is it more like a 'kuchen' breakfast cake than a 'pie.' I had one slice and the rest went in the garbage. At least I got to use up that can of apple pie filling I had in the cupboard. It did look pretty nice and smell good, but the taste and texture were all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This recipe was very good. It was a nice change to the same old apple pie. I did do it a little different. I used fresh apples and mixed them with some flour and sugar and then microwaved them for 2 minutes to soften them. I also addes a crumb topping on the top of 1/3c of flour and 1/4c of brown sugar with 2TB of melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
My lactose intolerant friends loved this! They thought the crust was delicious. Now I am going to try it with other fruit fillings as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I used fresh apples seasoned with nutmeg,cinnamon, and all spice. I added 1 cup sugar and 4tbs butter I then microwaved this mixture for approx 5 min. Then I added flour,egg, baking powder and mixed these like listed with about 1/2c sugar. Combined all and mixed up. Added lemon juice last turned out great. Thank you for the inspiration on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Hall Lynam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hannibal, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Like many others who posted, I changed it only because I find canned apple pie filling too sweet and not as flavorful as making my own. I sliced up 4 apples (3 honeycrisp and 1 gala) into a pan with 1/2 cup of butter, 1/2 cup sugar, 2.5 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. cloves. After sauteing for about 15 minutes on medium heat, I poured over the crust mixture in the recipe. I took this to my sister's for Thanksgiving and it was a great hit. Other than boiling over in my oven, I was really happy with it. The original recipe did not specify size of pan so I used a 9" pyrex pie pan and it did not accomodate the apple/crust mixture. I'll use a bigger pan next time because I thought the amount of apples was appropriate. Overall, I thought this is a creative way to make an applie pie without having to make a standard pastry crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I thought this recipe was good. It makes making pies so easy and simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tender foot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States