Crazy Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I did not care for this. The thing was there was no eggs .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This cake is great any time or occation. I replace the water with coffee for a rich mocha flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Love this cake! I substituted 1 c cold black coffee for half the water and substituted half of the cocoa powder with Black cocoa powder - I also put in one egg. Not a frosting fan - so topped with whipped cream to serve - but is great without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Our family has been making this for 4 generations with a variation : mix all dry ingredients in pan, make three wells for liquids, stir together, bake! Our kids love it! So rich and Moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I have no idea why some reviews don't like this cake. This cake was amazing and stands alone... it was so moist that I didn't even frost it. I didn't have any vegetable oil so I used olive oil and was a little nervous about it, but it still came out delicious. This cake is going to be a standby for those evenings that we just need a yummy, cheap and easy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I have known this cake recipe as a 3 hole cake, wacky cake, and depression cake... I have been baking this since i was 5 years old shared by my mom who made my dad drive around for like an hour to get this recipe over the radio in 1964... i have different variations like white, Mexican chocolate, strawberry, carrot cake, spice, the ideas are endless... one suggestion i have is use apple cider vinegar instead of white unless you are doing the white cake, and use 1 cup of coffee with the water and use 2 cups of cake flour with one cup of reg flour. and if anyone does not like this cake i am sorry for it is a favorite of many and also part of our countries history..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This cake should be illegal! I mean really....how could something so simple from scratch be so fantastic!? It's a fail-safe cake. I mix about a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips in and use store bought chocolate frosting and it's death by chocolate! And it's teenager, pre-teen, 4 yr old and husband approved. If you let it cool just enough to frost and eat while it's till warm you with some vanilla bean ice cream......you will think you've died and gone to heaven! This is an idiot proof recipe and I can't thank you enough for sharing. I've already made two birthday cakes and several "craving chocolate dessert" ones. It's also perfect because you always have all of the ingredients in your kitchen too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made this and my kids loved it!! It was sooo easy to make. I also changed the cocoa to 1 cup. It was moist and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
followed advice of others increasing cocoa and vinegar - this cake just reminded me of a devil dog and fell apart faster then a blink of an eye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Amazing cake! I mixed all the ingredients in a separate bowl instead of doing it right in the pan as the recipe says. Added 3/4 cups of cocoa instead of 5/8 just out of personal preference. COOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmalchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States