Crazy Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Yum. I mixed first in a large bowl and transfered batter into 5 small loaf pans. Baking time was right on. I added 2Tbsp of vinegar. I also added about half a cup of chocolate chips and increased cocoa to 1 full cup. All changes were made based off of other reviews. I frosted with Creamy Chocolate Frosting from this sight and my mother-in-law didn't believe that I had made it. Kids liked it too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Castaic, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is very moist and simple to make. I didn't mix it in the cake pan (to avoid scraping up my cake pan or getting undisolved lumps), and it turned out fine. It has a nice rich taste (I added a tad more cocoa and a tad less sugar for a richer chocolatey taste.) FYI: The vinegar reacts with the baking soda and makes the batter bubbly. If this doesn't happen, your baking soda is probably old and the cake won't get fluffy and won't stay moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessybaker76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I just baked this cake, I have been baking vegan cakes from scratch for years although I did tweak this one a bit...I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil-but way less than the recipe called for, I also added two thirds of a cup of unsweetened applesauce, I used dark brown sugar because I was short on white and I added more cocoa, a little over a cup in total and topped it off with the chocolate glaze for a bundt cake, also found on this site. Again tweaking that recipe and substituting coconut oil and coconut milk in place of milk and butter to make the recipe vegan also I had to add a little salt to combat the over sweetness of the confectioner's sugar in the glaze...everything came out okay, I will keep working with this recipe to get it just "so" for my tastes but it's worth working on it...to make this good recipe a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I LOVED that I found this recipe... we called it something different... The only thing I would change is in the directions. I use a metal strainer and put all the dry ingredients in, and tap it into the cake pan... make three wells in the dry ingredients for the wet ingredients (except the water) then add the water. When mixing make sure to scrape the corners of the pan... I did up the coco in this recipe.. we usually just eat it with no frosting. Our company and kids LOVE it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
It was okay. It was very chocolaty but not very moist. Wont be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
You have not any idea how long I have been looking for this recipe. My grandmother use to make it and she called it a Wacky Cake. Thank you for ending my search. I know how wonderful, moist this cake is and it can easily be made into a cake for diabetics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I will not make a boxed chocolate cake again. This cake is ridiculously simple and it's so moist and chocolatey. I was worried that it didn't use any eggs or butter, but they are not needed. I split the recipe into two 8x8 cakes (because there is no way my fiance and I could ever finish a whole batch ourselves.) The first cake I topped with whipped topping. The second cake I'll be topping with a chocolate butter cream frosting. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MnMags

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This recipe has been in my family for years as well. Absolutely The best Choc. cake ever! If you dont like this cake or comes out odd, re check the recipe because you are not doing something right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Flat and way too much sugar. I was expection something unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I did not care for this. The thing was there was no eggs .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States