Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Moist, fluffy and not too sweet. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Great cake! I made this for one reason, I had no baking powder on hand and I needed to make a cake fast! I remembered having this once before and I knew that the vinegar would be my "baking powder" for the moment. I turned this recipe into about 23 cupcakes (1/4 cup batter). At the party, I watched these cupcakes go one by one and I even saw people go back for a second. Great! I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
A neighbor of ours taught my mother how to make this cake back in the 70's, the only difference is that it was made in an iron skillet. I remembered it the other day and searched for the recipe on this site and low and behold here it was. I remembered the ingredients just didn't know the quantities. I made it for two 9 yr. old's and they loved it. One boy told me that he didn't like chocolate but after trying this cake,, he'd changed his mind. He said it was the best cake he'd ever eaten. The cake was moist and rich and just as wonderful as I remembered it from when I was a kid. Thank you so much for the recipe, it's definitely going be the only chocolate cake recipe I use! I frosted it with the rich chocolate frosting from this site and it really was just phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micahsgrandma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
1st time I ever made a chocolate cake from scratch, was very easy and came out very moist and nice. I did add choc and butterscotch chips, so reduced the sugar just a bit and subsituted the water with coffee. will definately be making again, will also be trying the white vrsin with white choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I loved it. My mom and sister are experimenting with a vegan diet so I made this for dessert one night. It's nice to be able to still enjoy your food even when changing your lifestyle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
First time to make Crazy Cake (or Wacky Cake, which appears to be the same thing). Discovered too late that I was about 1/2 c shy of flour. Subbed 1/4 c cornstarch for 1/2 c flour. This came out great. Delicious flavor, with a soft crumb. I made a sheet cake out of it and baked about 20 min. I also mixed the ingred in a bowl instead of the pan (sifted dry ingred, stirred with whisk until well mixed, made the 3 wells as described for the 3 liquids, then poured the water over all, and whisked it thoroughly). This recipe is a keeper. You would never ever guess no eggs or milk. I frosted with a melted butter vanilla almond frosting: melt 1 stick butter, whip in 1/2 of a bag of powdered sugar, 1 tsp each of almond and vanilla extracts, and a few tsps hot water until lump-free, and desired thickness. Pour over hot cake, cool, Enjoy! Great combo. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Sl3254
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
very easy to make and goes great with butter-cream icing~!! made it for my baby's 3rd birthday & she loved it. will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sl3254
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
My grandmother made this cake for years and it was the 2nd (the 1st was a pineapple upside down cake I made in home ec class) cake I ever made from scratch. I used to take it to the church socials. everyone loves it because it's so moist. I never frost it. It doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAllen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Grrrrrrrreat recipe! I didn't have any eggs in hand so I looked for a recipe with no eggs and here it is! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This cake deserves MORE than 5 stars! EVERYONE raved about it! great flavour, dense, moist, and cuts wonderfully. also keeps very well for a week (the only reason it lasted so long was because I made 3 layers for my final cake class project and couldnt go)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States