Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This vegan cake is better than most box mixes. However it lacks the depth of flavor that butter and eggs usually provide in a home-made cake. After the first time I made it I've compensated by doubling the vanilla and cocoa, and this is now a favorite around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Alvarado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My "go to" chocolate cake. It's easier and tastier than a boxed cake mix! I like to make cupcakes with it and pipe on any kind of frosting -- buttercream, chocolate buttercream, or peanut butter frosting. But this cake is delicious even without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matthews, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fredericktown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lolalita
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
The cake is VERY moist! The vegetable oil makes it super soft to the touch, though it nice, next time I might reduce the oil to 1/2 cup or 2/3 cup instead. It's hardly sweet, so it's okay to eat a big piece ;-). I made a white chocolate topping (though not perfect because I poured it very hot), it was still good. Topping recipe (1 cup (chocolate) chips (I used white), 1/4 cup evaporated milk, 2 tablespoons of butter, now melt in microwave. Once combined, add 1cup of powered sugar, mix well till incorporated, let cool off a little bit, then spread before it thickens too much. Enjoy!) I added red food coloring to one with sprinkles and other just pecans on top. I made this cake twice, I followed a reviewers advise to add strawberry jello and strawberries (chopped or puréed) and that was the biggest mistake ever!!! Leave the recipe as is, please, unless u like mushy-baby-food-like-cake, yuck, I can chew thank you. Anyway, beware it doesn't work. I was going to post a pick of it in the trash but decided against it. This recipe is easy and quick as is, especially when you run out if eggs & milk at home, but want dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This recipe is the absolute best. My younger son is allergic to eggs so I've been trying different recipes . This one was a winner ! I've made it quite a few times. I altered it a bit though...I added 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate chips, a handful of cranberries and I also added 4 tsp of baking powder( I found it strange that the recipe didn't call for it so I've never tried it without ). The chocolate chips melted n the cranberries added a pleasant burst of flavor. On the last occasion I substituted melted butter /margarine for the oil. I found that the texture was superb. Think I'm gonna stick to that one. In any event, This ones a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
I love this cake, My great grandmother used to make this for me every year for my birthday with a boiled frosting on it! Oh the memories, and it has become a favorite among my family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I had to bake something for my class, and since turning vegan it makes it hard to bake. I tried this recipe and i am literally in love. SUCH A GREAT CAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I was very surprised at how great this recipe turned out. Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Need to find my other crazy cake recipe as this one needs some fine-tuning (the vinegar is NOT the issue, for those put off by the vinegar). 1) I will NEVER make a cake in a 9x13 pan again. Very hard to mix well/evenly and even stirring gently, I sent powder everywhere, creating a bigger mess than simply washing a separate bowl. 2) I used a high quality cocoa (AND replaced one cup of water with coffee as I always do with my chocolate cakes) and this still was barely chocolatey. Definitely needed more cocoa, although a moderate choc fan might have been satisfied. 3) This was not the fault of the recipe, but just a comment: My cake went from not done to nearly burnt very fast, so watch it closely the last five minutes. 4) Texture was good -- a wee bit oily, but probably needed that to come out of pan. Very moist & rose well. My biggest issue was the lack of chocolate taste and the one-bowl method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I made this cake for my nan as she cannot eat dairy - I actually added two eggs and an extra 1/4 cup of cocoa, as I wanted it to be a bit more indulgent. I turned out really well, especially as I sprinkled chopped roasted hazelnuts on top before cooking. The batter was really huge - I ended up using an 11" round tin which was perfect. Will make it again, it has a lovely pudding-like taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fambeldavs
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I Wow!!!!! This was so good. Moist rich -it's hard to believe there's no eggs. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States