Crazy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I helped my 12 year old make this cake and though it was moist and fluffy, it lacked taste. I think I will try this again and add chocolate chips as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paswifelaura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This cake is amazing. I followed the recipe exactly as written and the cake turned out perfectly. It was moist and very chocolate-y but not too rich. I topped it off with a drizzle of powdered sugar icing with a subtle orange flavour. (Better Homes & Gardens recipe. Make sure you keep tasting it or you could end up with a very orange-flavoured icing!) I served the cake at a birthday party and it was a hit. I'll definitely make it again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is a great recipe for young people to make - easy, great chocolate taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
My mom would make this cake and she always made it so dramatic when she added the vinegar to the soda. Can't wait to make this with my grandchildren someday. Hint: replace water with coffee (my mom loved coffees and always had a cold pot sitting around) She also used coffee in the chocolate buttercream frosting we put on top (let the cake cool before you add frosting)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This wonderful recipe saved me a trip the grocery store this morning. Remembering that my son needed cupcakes for school tomorrow, we decided to make chocolate cupcakes, and then realized we had just used the last of the milk and eggs on breakfast. I found this cake recipe, made it into cupcakes, and they were perfect. I have tried to adapt other chocolate cake recipes into cupcakes, and have had a few mishaps. But this recipe worked very well, baking up beautifully. I topped these with decorator frosting (from this site) and then made spiderwebs with melted chocolate. My son was thrilled with the outcome and I was thrilled that I saved a trip to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
an excellent recipe. it's fun to play around with things to use instead of 2 cups of water. i've tried fresh brewed coffee, a pureed can of beets (use everything from the can and about 1/4 cup water to equal 2 c), and almond milk with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plantgirl33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Love this cake, I make this for my son that is allergic to egg and dairy. I've used half whole wheat flour, brown sugar instead of white, and sometimes use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. Doesn't seem to matter what I do this cake comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
easy to make and loked very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
this is the recipe I use every.single.time I bake a cake from scratch. I love it. It is kind of dense, but not heavy. Not like those super fluffy cakes that makes you want to eat 15 pieces of to satisfy your craving for chocolate cake. Thank you so much for the recipe! I would like to add something very important about this recipe: I would suggest letting it sit for a day to rest before you eat it. it is MUCH better on day 2 or 3. I make it as the recipe calls for to the "T", most of the time. sometimes I use whole wheat flour, and sometimes I use applesauce instead of oil, and I am never disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I have three kids, and one has food allergies (peanut, egg, soy, and corn). I love looking for recipes for him, and we all eat the safe foods that I bake or cook for him. Therefore, if we don't like it, I don't serve it to him. This recipe is so unbelievably delicious that frosting is optional. I love that it can be served to anyone, and they would never know that anything is missing, as compared to other cake recipes. Now, I need to figure out how I can turn this recipe into a red velvet cake and how to make cream cheese frosting that's safe for my son. Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States